Please help me!

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by PeaceWing, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

    I installed the trial anydvd and clone dvd but when I inserted the a dvd it would not play. I then unisntalled anydvd and clone dvd but now everytime I insert a dvd, they do not work. I have windows xp can anyone help me?
     
  2. locoeng

    locoeng Well-Known Member

  3. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    Does your optical drive show up in Device Manager?
     
  4. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

    I installed anydvd version 6.1.1.4 and clone dvd version2.9.0. My dvd drive is Pioneer DVDRW DVR-K17. My OS is windows XP Professional. I haven't tried to copy or burn the dvd's yet. I've only tried to play them. I uninstalled any DVD and clone DVD and tried to play the DVD's again. If I use windows media player 10 I just get a black screen with no sound. If I try to use realplayer 10 or intervideo winDVD 5 I'm told to lower the screen resolution (which does not work). When I tried using inter actual player 2.0 it says that no DVD navigator was detected. The DVDs I've tried to play so far are:

    -Pirates of the Carribean: Curse of the Black Pearl, (Disk 1) region 2 (UK)
    -Mobile Suit Gundam Wing Complete Collection 1 (Disk1), region 1(USA), released 2000
    -Mobile Suit Gundam Wing Endless Waltz, region 2 (UK)
    -Teen Titans: Divide and Conquer region 1 (USA), released 2004

    I looked at the thread http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=792 but I don't know what a IDE/SATA Busmaster driver is?
     
  5. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

    Yes, it's still there

    *Oh and I also forgot that my optical drive is set to region 2 (I don't know if that makes a difference)
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2007
  6. DetroitBaseball

    DetroitBaseball Well-Known Member

    Are you in region 2?
     
  7. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

    Yes. Does that make a difference?
     
  8. DetroitBaseball

    DetroitBaseball Well-Known Member

    Shouldn't make a difference, I just wanted to make sure that you had it set to the proper region.
     
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    1) Did the discs play before you ever installed Slysoft products?
    If not, then this isn't an Anydvd issue.

    2) I wouldn't expect Region 1 discs to play in a Region 2 drive--unless Anydvd was running.
     
  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  11. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

    The region 2 discs worked perfectly before I installed any slysoft products. I tried both region 1 and 2 discs while anyDVD was running but they did not work. After uninstalling anyDVD and cloneDVD, I tried the region 2 discs but they did not work.
     
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Try http://www.ccleaner.com/

    Run the registry cleaner portion of that program

    And do this please:

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=86829

    If you didn't download the Slysoft programs from http://www.slysoft.com/download.html
    then that was your problem.

    When running Anydvd, please ensure your firewall/antivirus/antispyware software is granting anydvd permission to run.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2007
  13. PeaceWing

    PeaceWing Member

  14. DetroitBaseball

    DetroitBaseball Well-Known Member

     
  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    He does because some discs are not in the same region that he's in.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  16. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    For the ones that aren't in your region, yes. Otherwise, no.

    If you get the message about lowering your resolution, I would probably expect that when going from PAL (region 2) to NTSC (region 1). These are two different video formats, with PAL offering more resolution.

    Remember to change your region settings when playing these discs on whatever software you're using, so the software can recognize that it needs to output NTSC if you're playing region 1 discs. Or there may be a NTSC output setting within the playback software itself.

    The more I think about this problem, the more I think it's due to regional settings in playback software (for NTSC playback) than anything with anydvd.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  17. DetroitBaseball

    DetroitBaseball Well-Known Member

    DVDs shouldn't even be region protected, that is BS.
     
  18. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    That's just another reason why Anydvd is a powerful tool for HTPCs.
     
  19. Clams

    Clams Well-Known Member

    I think region protection is thier way to market a DVD for $0.28 in a third world country, and $14.99 in the US for the same DVD :D

    Kinda like the way a 2L bottle of Coke costs $1.39 in McAllen TX, and $0.10 over the border in Mexico.

    -W
     
  20. DetroitBaseball

    DetroitBaseball Well-Known Member

    Probably true.