• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

[Resolved] Desperate Housewives and Expensive Coasters (or newbie question)

rrue

Bear with me, I'm new to CloneDVD/AnyDVD, new to copying DVDs in general.

Had pretty good luck copying disks but have limited myself to DVD-5 disks, either by stripping out everything but the movie or living with reduce quality in the copy.

Trying to copy Desperate Housewives Season 2 (for my wife, I swear to God) and finally got around to picking up some DL blanks.

Ran a regular "clone"operation with everything at default and got a write error and a coaster. Turns out I had the write speed at Maximum.

I set the write speed to 4X and the job ran and finished without errors. Got a disk that won't load in either the home player or the computer, however.

Ripped the disk to an ISO file without errors. Burned it to a DL blank without error. Coaster.

Did manage to clone to a DVD-5 by removing episodes. That one plays.

Anyone know if DH Season 2 (A Buena Vista / Disney release?) has some funky protection I don't know about? Or am I missing something obvious when burning to DL media? Modern "distributed" disks do use DL media, don't they?

Using the latest/ greatest versions, BTW, 2.9.2.0 and 6.5.1.8.

Thanks in advance for any help...

rrue
Seattle WA USA (viva la Obama!)

finally got around to picking up some DL blanks.

Are you using junk blank media? If you're not using Verbatim +R DL (preferably made in Singapore) or MAM-A +R DL 8x, then chances are the answer to this question is "yes". If you use junk blank media, then you should expect problems.