Packet Writing Software - Sonic DLA

Discussion in 'CloneDVD' started by Solostian, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    Hi,

    My laptop (Toshiba Satellite M50-X2) came pre-loaded with Sonic's DLA and RecordNow utilies.

    I've been trying to test CloneDVD unsuccessfully for a week now. I'm trying to make a backup of one of my kid's DVD to a Verbatim DVD-R DL. BTW, my registered copies of AnyDVD and CloneDVDMobile work great (I used RecordNow to burn the DivXes).

    I keep getting Write Error 14 (if memory serves me right, I'll check) with a message to the effect that the source data is larger than the target media's capacity.

    I don't think this is a a firmware/driver issue as RecordNow is correctly identifying the DVD-R DL.

    Going through the forums, I get the feeling that DLA might be the source of my worries.

    Can someone explain to me, in plain English, what a Packet Writing Software does?
    How it interferes with CloneDVD's writing ability?
    What would the consequences of uninstalling DLA be?

    Thanks,
    Solostian
     
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    If your burner supports Verbatim +R DL and bitsetting the media to "dvd-rom", use Verbatim +R DL media instead since -R DL media has a fixed layer break position that cannot be changed. Also, I prefer using Clonecd with Verbatim +R DL media, because Clonecd will retain the original layer break position, whereas Clonedvd2 will not when backing up commercial dvd-videos.

    To learn how to use Clonecd visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=327

    To learn how to use Clonedvd, visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476

    For more information on the layer break position issue, visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=685

    It allows you to drag and drop files to your blank dvd or cd media as you would a floppy disk using Windows Explorer. If you want that type of functionality, I recommend investing in a burner that supports dvd-ram instead and dvd-ram media; using that method will be a lot more secure and stable than using packet writing software.

    Packet writing software generally interferes with a lot of other burning software, including Slysoft's.

    You wouldn't be able to use that program.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2007
  3. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    Where can I set this? In the Device manager, the drive's properties window or DVDClone?

    The copies are to be used in a car videoplayer which is not documented as supporting "+" media types. According to what I found on the internet, bitsetting it to dvd-rom as you suggested should resolve that.

    Won't CloneCD work just as well with a -R DL?

    Thanks for the info on Sonic's DLA. I'll have to make sure I have my install disk before I uninstall it because Sonic's tools work great. I use RecordNow to burn my DivXes from CloneDVDMobile and I don't want to lose that.

    The thing is, I still do not have an explanation as to how CloneDVD won't write to a DVD-R DL while RecordNow would. Especially with the error message it provides. I guess I'll try CloneCD!

    Wish me luck,
    Solostian
     
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Read step 3 from http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476
    In fact you should be following that guide step by step


    It should. but doesn't necessarily imply that it will for sure.

    from http://www.slysoft.com/download/changes_clonecd.txt

    "When Dual layer DVDs are copied to DVD+R DL media, the layer
    break position of the destination disc will be exactly at the same
    location as the source disc (does not work with DVD-R DL media, because
    DVD-R DL media has a fixed layer break position)"


    In all likelyhood your Sonic drivers are interfering with Slysoft software. That said, you should be answering http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=393 fully before posting
    (especially 8 and 9)


    You need to be giving full error message descriptions.

    If you're going to be using Clonecd, you should be following http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=327 step by step
     
  5. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    I get the following error :
    WriteDVD 14 W2

    Any idea what it means?
     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    There should be more to the error message than just that. Does it also say "source data too large"? That's more important
    than giving me 14 W2, which I can't decipher without doing searches.

    1. read and follow http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 step by step
    (print this out if you have to)

    2. Try verbatim +R DL media if your burner supports it; -R DL media tends to cause more issues I find

    3. Click this

    Do what it says to do.

    4. visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=21907&postcount=11 (thanks to Zebadee)
    Use one of the programs mentioned, and list your Lowerfilters and Upperfilters in your next post.

    Or for XP users only,
    Click Start, Run
    type regedit
    Go to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Current Control Set\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

    We want what's listed in "LowerFilters" and "UpperFilters". List your Lowerfilters and Upperfilters in your next post.

    Before you do this visit http://www.cdr-zone.com/forum/about4719.html, and read the first post please, so you can get a better understanding of what is going on.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2007
  7. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    Sorry, should have been more explicit. It was indeed the "source data too large" error message as I indicated in the first post of this thread.

    Thanks for that last batch of infos, I'll try it out as soon as I can get my hands on a couple of DVD+R DL blanks.

    Regards,
    Solostian

    P.S.
    About the error messages, I understand, as a software engineer myself, the reluctance of putting too much technical infos in a production release. But since Slysoft decided to go the way of the forums (an approach I loudly applaud BTW), wouldn't it be more productive for the message to contain a bit more information? Like an execution trace log or a more detailled error-message? ex: "Couldn't write because source data's first layer is larger than target media's first layer". In fact, these forums could be used to improve them!
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, you should really do 3, 4, and 1 first (in that order), before doing #2.


    I'm just a moderator. I don't work for Slysoft or Elaborate Bytes (Elaborate Bytes is the official developer of Clonedvd2). Consequently, my opinion here doesn't matter.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2007
  9. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    Finally got my hands on some good Verbatim DVD+R DL medias...

    Went to Toshiba's support page and found out that they actually think my laptop model should have a Samsung drive while it is a Matshita (short for Matsushita). So no driver/firmware updates.

    From AnyDVD:
    MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ-841S 1.50 508020KME1992079925

    Installed both CDSpeed and ImgBurn and it turns out they do not support Matshita (they do support Samsung though).

    Unless you have some additionnal pointers, I guess I'll have to wing it!

    Regards,
    Solostian
     
  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Matshita drives are Panasonic oem drives and amongst the worst ever sold (laptop companies love these drives, because they are cheap). The company does not provide official firmware downloads. You can try asking https://sec.panasonic.co.jp/psec/sec-cgi-bin/e_ask.cgi to see if they have a firmware update available for you, but basically you need to contact whomever sold you the drive. For future reference Matshita burners tend to be horrible, and you will have terrible problems trying to use Anydvd when the region of disc won't match the region of the drive.

    Read http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=637240&postcount=2 for more information about region issues with your drive.

    Also, I'm pretty sure your burner doesn't support bitsetting (which explains why both cdspeed and imgburn won't work for bitsetting changes), so really, the best solution would be to get a better burner that does support bitsetting, at least. I really have nothing but contempt for Matshita, and I really dislike troubleshooting people's issues with them, when the best solution is to simply get a better burner.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  11. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    I started burning an ISO file I had archived a while ago. All it did was create a recursive tree of the drive letter. Odd.

    I then went ahead and tried to clone my kid's DVDs. It all went very well despite the drive's bitsetting inability. The copied discs work well in my home DVD players. All I have left to do is test them out in my parents' car video system.

    As for the Matshita drive, I share your dislike of hobbled hardware for cost reduction's sake. Still, I'm stuck with it. I'll know better when comes the time to buy a new notebook. It as still not given me any grief with AnyDVD. Should the car video system test fail, I'll consider getting a better drive.

    Thanks for all the help,
    Solostian
     
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, if everything works o.k., then don't worry about it. Cross the bridge when you come to it.
     
  13. mmdavis

    mmdavis Well-Known Member

    DVD5 or +/-DL

    One thing I haven't seen you say is whether you are selecting DVD5 or DVD +/-DL on the destination disc. If the original is a dual/double layer and your blank is a dual/double layer, but you have DVD5 selected for the destination in CloneDVD, you can get that error message.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  14. Solostian

    Solostian Member

    I did select the "DVD+/-R DL" option. The idea was to create a copy as perfect as possible. I've learned since then that I should be trying out CloneCD instead...

    BTW, what's the word on an SVCD output format? That would be REAL handy right now...
     
  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Possibly Clonedvdmobile (I'm not sure), but certainly not Clonedvd2 nor Clonecd . . .