where is the profiles menu

Discussion in 'CloneCD' started by tivertonrose, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi,
    I've been searching for an hour looking for the profiles menu. I uninstalled clone cd and reinstalled it thinking it was missing. I read in another post to right click on the dvd drive in clone cd and you would see, new, edit, copy, rename and delete. I had a dvd in the drive. But when I do it, it is greyed out and I can't chose anything. How does clone cd know what speed I want to burn at etc? I have clone dvd also, but that one is not so mysterious.
    Below (snap 2) is the window that comes up when I click on cloneCd5, but I am trying to get to the profiles window (snap). I also went into my computer, all programs, and clicked on "profiles" but that was the manual I think and not in english. Could someone tell me how to get to it. Thanks. ~Rose
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  3. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi,
    Thank you for responding and thank you for the recommendation page. I be;ieve I have been following the steps and do everything on the list. My clone cd is not working now. I've just tried again to copy a disk. I am using any dvd also. Updated to the latest version and all firmware is updated.
    It took 53 min. to read and write a 90 min movie which was 3.97GB. I use Verbatim 16x +R's and TY +R's. Even though its a small movie I used a DL Verbatim because that is what I got clone cd for--to copy entire movies.

    I tried playing it back on WinDvd5 and got the MGM logo for a second, then it was all black and didn't play any further. Yesterday it did the same thing on a movie I tried to copy using DL. I burned the movie "departed" a couple weeks ago and just watched it last night and towards the middle and end of the movie it kept jerking and freezing. I burn at half speed--16x at 8x or 2.4 to 4x with DL. My burners are fairly new. Samsung SH-S182D (SB06) and just bought the BenQ DW1655 (BCDB). Any ideas what could be wrong? What other information can I post. Thanks. ~Rose
     
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Oh, sorry. If the source disc is under 4.7GB, then chances are it's a single layer disc. Consequently, you can probably use your Verbatim and TY 16x blank media.

    The jerking and freezing around the middle of the disc is likely your optical drives getting hung up around the layer break position. The end of the disc too, may represent poor burn quality. Burn quality errors do tend to increase right around the layer break position and towards the end of discs. So a possibility may exist that your burners are not burning this blank media well. The capacity to burn DL media well is often one of the first things to go when burners begin to fail.

    1. I would recommend updating your burners' firmware if available.

    2. Also, if the source disc is single layer, then use single layer blank media.

    3. MKM 001 (Verbatim +R DL) 2.4x-6x rated blank media burns well at 4x.

    4. Ensure you change the booktype to "dvd-rom".

    5. Test your discs in a standalone dvd player. If they play fine, then the issue could be with windvd 5 or your drives, for whatever reason, don't like the excellent blank media you're using.

    Verbatim +R DL made in Singapore is pretty much the only reliable +R DL media I've come across.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  5. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi,
    I just checked the blank DL disks with disk identifier and they are MKM 001 and states burn speed as 2.4x. The sleeve the disks came with states 2.4x but will burn up to 6x with high speed drives.

    I will try again with DL when I get a bigger movie to burn and try a different burner. I usually just use CloneDvd for single layer movies and it works fine for me. This just started with CloneCd and the coasters were over 4.7 gig movies. I haven't used it all that much but the ones I did do in the past with DL were fine.

    All my firmwares and updates are current. Booktype is dvd-rom. Its puzzling when you think you've done everything necessary and cannot find the problem. Don't like wasting DL's either. I was just doing a test, I don't usually use DL for under 4.7 gig movies. I will do as you suggest and test again with a bigger movie and DL disks and a different burner and see how it goes. Thanks again for your help. ~Rose
     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Ok, then I recommend a 4x burn speed (in addition to always ensuring the booktype is set to dvd-rom) and updating your burner's firmware if one is available. Here's a firmware check tool for your Benq drive: http://www.benq.us/support/download...45.38.159/dvd%2drw%2ffirmware%2ffwcheck%2ezip

    The other possibility is your player/optical drives simply don't like Verbatim +R DL blank media made in Singapore (which would be a shame, considering it's probably the most highly regarded and consistent +R DL blank media). Try the discs in a standalone dvd player to see if you still experience the same issue.

    Again, if the source is a single layer disc, then use single layer blank media instead.

    With Clonecd, the size of the blank media should always equal the size of the source.

    Also do steps 3 and 4 from here please: http://forum.slysoft.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19

    The jerking and freezing around the middle of the disc is likely your optical drives getting hung up around the layer break position. The end of the disc too, may represent poor burn quality. Burn quality errors do tend to increase right around the layer break position and towards the end of discs. So a possibility may exist that your burners are not burning this blank media well. The capacity to burn DL media well is often one of the first things to go when burners begin to fail.
    Download Nero cd-dvd speed. It's a free program. Select the tab labeled "scandisc". Select the appropriate drive letter, and click "start". If Nero cd-dvd speed reports read errors, either the burns were bad or your optical drives are beginning to fail.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Active Member

    tivertonrose wrote ... Hi,
    I've been searching for an hour looking for the profiles menu. I uninstalled clone cd and reinstalled it thinking it was missing. I read in another post to right click on the dvd drive in clone cd and you would see, new, edit, copy, rename and delete. I had a dvd in the drive. <snip>

    Uh, I am laughing here ... the very last sentence .. a "DVD" in the Drive? You need to have a CD in the drive to use CDClone. <smile>
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    And why are you laughing? You are mistaken. Clonecd works fine with dvds.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  9. shannon90210

    shannon90210 Well-Known Member

    Do you have QSuite installed / Using it for your DW1655 ?



    Open Advanced Windows Care > Tools > Start-Up Manager
    ( it's free )

    You will be presented with a listing of the Programs
    - designated to Start-Up with Windows
    - and Descriptions of Each ( Click on Listing )

    Do you show a Listing for "CloneCD systray" .... or something like that ?
    How about "Nero Filter check" .... ?

    These Items should be Deleted - from the Start-Up


    Any other DVD/CD related Programs - Listed in the Start-Up ?
    Windows Media Player .. something ?


    Delete anything - Not Trustworthy
    Delete anything - Not Necessary or Preferred
    ( you may right click on an Start-Up item > Select Disable - If you prefer )
    >> Apply
    > Reboot


    .... Let's check something .....

    Go to > Start > My Computer
    > Right Click on DVD drive > Properties > Auto-Play tab

    What do you have selected for the "Action to Preform" for 'DVD Movie" ?
    This should be set as "Take no action"
    OR
    Set only for your DVD Player ( WinDVD/PowerDVD )
    - be sure to close your 'Player' before opening Any DVD Software


    In the Drive properties > AutoPlay
    What do you have Selected for "Blank CD"
    This should be at "Take No Action"

    Do you have a Recording Tab ?
    Try UnChecking= "Enable CD recording for this Drive"

    Re Check Both Drives



    @ Trooper
    CloneCD works awesome for 1:1 Copies of DVDs




    :)
     
  10. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi,
    Here are the filters -- foreign to me :)
    ---------
    Filter Check Tool v3.4
    An Upper Filter found is: Cdralw2k
    Filterdriver properties are:

    An Upper Filter found is: pwd_2k
    Filterdriver properties are:

    A Lower Filter found is: ElbyCDFL
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: ElbyCDFL
    Caption: ElbyCDFL
    Description: ElbyCDFL
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: ElbyCDFL
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\ElbyCDFL.sys
    Version Info: 5.2.1.3
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: AnyDVD
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: AnyDVD
    Caption: AnyDVD
    Description: AnyDVD
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: AnyDVD
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\AnyDVD.sys
    Version Info: 6.1.6.5
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: ElbyDelay
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: ElbyDelay
    Caption: ElbyDelay
    Description: ElbyDelay
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: ElbyDelay
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\ElbyDelay.sys
    Version Info: 5.1.0.1
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: AFS2K
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: AFS2K
    Caption: AFS2k
    Description: AFS2k
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: AFS2k
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\AFS2K.sys
    Version Info: 3.1.21.0
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: System
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 1

    A Lower Filter found is: Cdr4_xp
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: Cdr4_xp
    Caption: Cdr4_xp
    Description: Cdr4_xp
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: Cdr4_xp
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\Cdr4_xp.sys
    Version Info: 7.1.0.220
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: System
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 6
     
  11. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi Shannon,

    Yes, I have Qsuite for the benQ. I shut off the speed write option, then turned it back on, then turned it off again. Didn't know if that was doing something nasty or not.

    Blanks and movies selected as "take no action". I'm going to go download the windows tool you posted now and see what is there. I think its the benQ drive though. I just bought this drive and used it in clone cd for the first couple times. Thank you.

    ~Rose
     
  12. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi Trooper,

    Thats ok, I thought the same thing for a long time. Didn't know the difference between clone's and never considered buying cloneCd because thought it was just for cd's. Think a name change may be in order :agree:~Rose
     
  13. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Hi,
    That Windows care tool is pretty neat. I only had 3 things in start up. My anti virus, anti spyware and cloneCd systray. I disabled the systray. Will CloneCd stick that in there every time I use it? Thanks. ~Rose
     
  14. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Used by Roxio Easy Media Creator, WinOnCD 6.

    This filter may cause problems, but it's unlikely.

    BAD BAD BAD

    Used by Adaptec Direct CD.

    Do not use packet writing software. If you want drag-and-drop functionality, use dvd-ram instead. Packet writing software tends to cause problems and is less stable than dvd-ram.

    This filter needs to go.


    Used by Roxio Easy Media Creator, WinOnCD 6, DragtoDisc and DirectCD

    Very bad as well, as both Directcd and Dragtodisc are examples of packet writing software. This filter needs to go



    Uninstall whatever software installed pwd_2k and cdr4_xp. Then reboot, and ensure those two filters are no longer listed in your registry.
     
  15. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    I can uninstall Roxio, but I have no idea what put "pwd_2k" in there. I don't use drag and drop for anything. Thanks for the info. I'll try and find out. ~Rose
     
  16. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    You don't need to uninstall all of Roxio, just directcd or dragtodisc. But pwd_2k does need to go, and Roxio's packet writing software is known to install the entry.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2007
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    It's best that you uninstall directcd/dragtodisc using its respective uninstall program instead of doing the following. But if you can't get rid of the filters, I mentioned this is what you do (keep in mind doing this will render the programs that originally installed those entries useless, and in some severe cases, may even make your system unstable):

    1. Download imgburn. It's a free program: http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download
    (it's also an excellent program imo)

    2. Run imgburn. Go to Tools > Filter Driver Load Order

    3. Select pwd_2k. Click "remove selected filter". Click "ok".

    4. Select Cdr4_xp. Click "remove selected filter". Click "ok". Reboot

    5. Run imgburn again. Go to Tools > Filter Driver Load Order. Click "Clipboard". Then paste the information you pasted into your clipboard into your next post in this thread (ctrl-v).

    I also strongly recommend doing this:
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=1455402&postcount=3
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2007
  18. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    Well, Roxio gave me a fit, so I uninstalled the whole thing and a bunch of other things I had on my computer that I never used. If I need Roxio for anything again, I have the disk, but rarely use it. Here are the filters now. Hope all the bad stuff is gone.
    ----------
    Filter Check Tool v3.4
    No Upper Filters found.
    A Lower Filter found is: ElbyCDFL
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: ElbyCDFL
    Caption: ElbyCDFL
    Description: ElbyCDFL
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: ElbyCDFL
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\ElbyCDFL.sys
    Version Info: 5.2.1.3
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: AnyDVD
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: AnyDVD
    Caption: AnyDVD
    Description: AnyDVD
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: AnyDVD
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\AnyDVD.sys
    Version Info: 6.1.6.5
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: ElbyDelay
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: ElbyDelay
    Caption: ElbyDelay
    Description: ElbyDelay
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: ElbyDelay
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\ElbyDelay.sys
    Version Info: 5.1.0.1
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    A Lower Filter found is: AFS2K
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: AFS2K
    Caption: AFS2k
    Description: AFS2k
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: AFS2k
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\AFS2K.sys
    Version Info: 3.1.21.0
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: System
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 1
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Last edited: Jul 5, 2007
  20. tivertonrose

    tivertonrose Active Member

    oh my--busmaster drivers:confused:---I thought I was all fixed. I do have 2 ide burners and a plextor 760A that is in an external case. Can you just tell me why I would do this? Just two sentence's or less is ok. I'm going to look that over tomorrow and see if I can figure that one out. Thank you for all your help--much appreciated. ~Rose