US Phantom HDDVD Logfile

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (Blu-ray issues)' started by rory83, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. rory83

    rory83 Member

    There must be a little more to it than this because if I play the disk (In my case 'An American Werewolf...' HDDVD) using PowerDVD it plays fine, but if I use the same PowerDVD on the same machine on the rip, I get this corruption too. And PowerDVD doesn't use the Msoft codecs. This is the first time I've used AnyDVD and it is thus a little disappointing.:(
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  2. sarah99

    sarah99 Well-Known Member

    PowerDVD v3104/3319 does not have this problem with Unforgiven rip on my PC
    Arcsoft Total player does not have this problem with Unforgiven rip on my PC
    MPC does have this problem but only for the first 10 mins of the movie (using Haali + DMO)
    MPC does not have this problem using Sonic splitter + sonic video decoder

    My American Werewolf rip has no video corruption in MPC, but audio is strange.


    Have you tried to re-rip and play? I think earlier versions of AnyDVD may not have ripped everything quite right.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  3. rory83

    rory83 Member

    My PDVD is 3319a.
     
  4. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Yes, reripped. I also have the same issue on my only other disk, Phantom. Interestingly each time I rip them, the corruptions occur in different places. Shows OK for a minute or 2 then corruption creeps in and at times completely pixellates the output. And yet the actual disks play fine via PDVD so it's not a media problem. Tried both the current production version and the last beta of Anydvdhd, tho' I see there's a new beta there this am. But it doesn't mention any changes to the decoding itself. Phantom is a US disk and American Werewolf was UK bought.

    This is using the LG dual reader with a 6600Quad.

    It is also not a playback codec issue, the same rip does the same breakup on my Sigma 8634 based media centre.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  5. rory83

    rory83 Member

    This refers to my post ref the pixellation I get on both the disks I've tried so far in any AnyDVDHD. Here is the logfile for the Phantom disk. Note that although listed in the filters, InCD is not running, I've commented it out in the registry.

    Edit... Well that's odd, despite my removal of Incd from LM/windows/run, I see in the process list it's still there, though its icon doesn't show up in the start bar any more. I'll kill it, and try again...
    Edit Edit: Incd, as well as its 'run' registry entry, also installed itself as a service. So I've disabled that and will try another rip...

    One hour later.. well that's eliminated Incd as the cause of the problem, still pixellation everywhere...
    Any ideas anyone please?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Doesn't matter. The filters need to be removed

    And AFC.sys is well known for causing problems.



    i) Create a backup of your registry
    ii) Download imgburn. It's a free program: http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download
    (it's also an excellent program imo)
    iii) Go to Tools > Filter Driver Load Order. Select "InCDPass". Click "Remove Selected Filter". Select "incdrm". Click "Remove Selected Filter". Select "Afc". Click "Remove Selected filter". Click "ok".
    iv) Reboot
     
  7. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Thanks for your reply. Bet you get bored repeating it...Sorry. :(
    I deinstalled the whole of Nero, and it doesn't appear in the o/p from the Imgburn list. But afc does, so I'll remove that, and also something called cdrbsddrv, from something called 'B's recorder gold'. I think all these have appeared because I have installed several video editor trial packages on this machine at different times. What a mess...
    I'll eliminate them and try again!
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Nero is fine, but Incd isn't. You can install Nero (just don't install Incd).
     
  9. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Never liked Nero anyway!
    No better I'm afraid, though Imgburn seems to list only redbook, the drive, Anydvd and imapi. I've attached the updated zip.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Do not post in other's troubleshooting threads unless you want to help them, please.
    click http://forum.slysoft.com/announcement.php?f=53 and read fully

    I just merged your posts from two threads concerning the same issue and was confused from not realizing you had posted elsewhere providing other pertinent information concerning your problem. Troubleshooting becomes very difficult if people need to read multiple threads concerning an issue that someone is having.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  11. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Just because a disc plays fine doesn't mean it is fine.
    But I doubt the original disc is the problem if no errors occurred while ripping.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Did you rip again after removing those filters? It seems to me there's a problem with the rip that you're testing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  13. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Yes. (lengthens message so it isn't rejected!)
     
  14. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator


    Other than trying different versions of Powerdvd, I'm out of suggestions I'm afraid.
    Perhaps others will.

    You don't have "rename highest XPL file" enabled in Anydvd, right?
     
  15. rory83

    rory83 Member

    No, that option is off. And I do not think it is a PowerDVD problem because it's in the rip, and the errors are visible via my media player if I transcode the rip to it.
     
  16. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    Does PowerDVD play the disc correctly, if AnyDVD is running?
     
  17. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Yes, it's running now with AnyDVD in the startbar. I have the information window up and it's showing it as a VC1 video ,with varying bit rates around 20Mbps, plus DDPlus 5.1 at 640Kbps.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  18. rory83

    rory83 Member

    Further observations

    I've been trying some further experiments tonight. First of all I note that for some reason things seem, since I removed those installed filters and misc applications, to have become rather sluggish on the PowerDVD front. It seems to pause a lot before it starts playing, with periods where the disk light is not on, and little appears to be happening. But if you wait, up comes the video...
    OK. So, I decided to retry my first HDVDVD, American Werewolf. But this time I made sure I'd made it play in PowerDVD first. Plays fine. OK, rip it... Eureka, the rip seems fine!!!.
    So I went back to Phantom, waited for AnyDVD to finish its load. Loaded up PowerDVD, waited through several multisecond pauses till it started. Playing fine. Stop PowerDVD, and immediately rip.... Seems fine at last, tho' I've only watched the first 10 mins, but previously it's all been broken up by then.
    So... conclusions:
    1.By using the PowerDVD first it's sorting out some odd buffering problem?
    2. New LG drive taking a little time to run in and, though it works OK for PowerDVD at normal playing rates from disk, AnyDVD does something it can't quite cope with till its warm?

    Clutching at straws, but at least I seem to have a modus operandi at present. And I've now done the only 2 disks I have at present!
    The 2 EVOs that make up the main feature on Phantom total 19GB by the way: AnyDVDHD takes about an hour to rip them on this Quad6600.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  19. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    No, there shouldn't be any difference, but you must wait for AnyDVD to finish the decryption before you start to rip.

    No, see above.

    The drive is the limiting factor. You can use the "xcopy" command or windows explorer drag'n'drop if you think this is faster. Or the Samuri method (see sticky thread).
     
  20. rory83

    rory83 Member

    I've always waited until the balloon from Anydvd vanishes: whether it is the case that it vanishes too early under some circumstances I don't know.

    As for the drive, I'm at a loss to know why the corruption was different on each run. And it was noticeably a 'phased' effect. It came, got worse, continued badly until the screen was entirely broken up, and then gradually got better again, a cycle that randomly repeated itself throughout the rip.

    No matter, got my 2 rips OK now! Now to face the challenge of transcoding to a format my media box will understand using the Doom 9 guide...

    Thanks for your comments. Keep up the good work!
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2008