The Hoax and Havoc 2 Region 1 cannot be backed up w/ AnyDVD 6.1.8.4 - use 6.1.7.4

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by Squaredog, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. Squaredog

    Squaredog New Member

    The Hoax R1 and Havoc 2 R1 cannot be backed up with the latest AnyDVD 6.1.8.4. 6.1.7.4 works fine, tried on three computers all the same.
     
  2. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Would you care to elaborate? Post the ZIP file containing the AnyDVD logs for these discs? What type of error are you receiving?

    I wouldn't recommend to anyone to downgrade w/o first confirming a problem exists.
     
  3. Pelvis Popcan

    Pelvis Popcan Well-Known Member

    Third post now on Havoc 2, and at third on The Hoax (counting Slysoft 1's post... he misspelled the topic as "The Host").

    I told the guy on CDFreaks to come here and post the log files (answer questions 8, 9, and 10), but their admin told him not to. :confused:
     
  4. Pelvis Popcan

    Pelvis Popcan Well-Known Member

    Squaredog, do you want Slysoft to fix the problem or not? If so, you need to answer questions 8, 9, and 10 from http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=321.

    If this is a disc that AnyDVD 6.1.8.4 cannot backup, Slysoft will be unable to fix the problem unless you help.
     
  5. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    They need to post all the info because this is confusing. I just completed a full disc backup of The Hoax w/o any issues. I scanned through and found no problems.

    I only used AnyDVD 6.1.8.4 & CloneDVD 2.9.1.2.

     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, if Drinklyeanddie says there isn't a problem with 6.1.8.4 and the Hoax, then there isn't a problem.

    People having problems need to start answering some questions.
     
  7. Pelvis Popcan

    Pelvis Popcan Well-Known Member

    DrinkLyeAndDie's info window doesn't match the one Slysoft 1 posted ("sabine's" over at CDFreaks).

    Differences are in bold:

    DrinkLyeAndDie's window:
    Slysoft 1's ("sabine's") window:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  8. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Now that is definitely odd. The version I have was bought at a local store when it was released.

    What setting was the A.I. Scanner set to. This can have an impact on what shows up in the status window. I have mine set to the the default setting (very fast).
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2007
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I doubt there's a difference between the discs. The disc size and layer break position are exactly the same.

    What I do note is one drive is using a region-free firmware; I don't know if there's an issue with that unofficial firmware that would affect the A.I. scanner.

    I also don't know if sabine has a bad original disc (which may trigger different information in the status window . . . this happened before with a badly damaged original disc)--nor do I know if sabine has a bunch of packet writing junk on his or her computer (bad ide busmaster driver . . . or other programs that conflict with Slysoft products).

    And the default setting on the A.I. scanner should be used.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  10. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Even on deep scan it shows up as 5 potential bad sector protections.

    I'm going to run a scan on my disc with Nero CD-DVD Speed. I suggest people having a problem try this on their discs. I would ask they answer the questions Webslinger has asked and I would also like to ask the people to disable AnyDVD and scan the disc and see if there are bad sectors. Then enable AnyDVD and scan the disc and see if there are bad sectors. It's a possibility that a bad disc could cause this error with the A.I. Scanner if it cannot fully read the disc
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2007
  11. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Retired Moderator

    I just replied in the CDF post that they need to run Nero CD/DVD speed and check the disc for errors. I'm guessing there are bad discs floating out there but we need to know for sure.
     
  12. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    One thing I will note is that the speed at which this disc is read can fluctuate greatly. The beginning was up and down and the middle third of the disc seemed pretty slow but then it shot up to 13x at about 70% and then gradually slowed back to the 6x area from 90% on.

    My disc is 100%.
     
  13. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Retired Moderator

    Freaky. Well, let's see what the scans of the disc come back as.
     
  14. Pelvis Popcan

    Pelvis Popcan Well-Known Member

    James should code a button into AnyDVD that automatically posts the info window and zip file to the forum or something. Then at least we could ask users to just push a button, although even getting people to do that will probably still be like pulling teeth. And it won't post the error message from whatever program the user was using to back up the disc.

    I used to work in support, and I still can't get over how many people think saying, "It don't work" is enough to get a problem solved.
     
  15. big_moviefreak

    big_moviefreak Active Member

    Anyone have information window for Havoc 2?
    I believe the same people that put out Full of it and the Blade House of Chthon all put out by New Line Home Video. I would think this is the Protect DVD protection which AnyDvd should be able to handle. I would also like to note I was able to back up Hoax R1 no problems with AnyDvd 6.1.8.4 and Dvd Shrink.
     
  16. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Retired Moderator

    It's been asked for. He's looking into something like that for a future version. I begged for it, believe me. :)
     
  17. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Havoc 2 is a New Line release and as such has X-Protect copy protection meaning the UDF file system is a mess. And, yes, AnyDVD 6.1.8.4 can handle the movie when the AnyDVD ripper is used or CloneDVD. It's possible this movie will have the same problems that Blade - House of Chthon has with DVD Shrink where it appears to back up fine but when you play the backup you'll find stuttering. Nero Recode likely won't be able to even import the movie at all.

     
  18. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    In this case, use Anydvd ripper and then import that rip using Shrink or Recode.
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Okay, well, thanks to Drinklyeanddie, we know that Anydvd 6.1.8.4 handles both of these discs perfectly fine. Moving on . . .
     
  20. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Yes, as I suspected Nero Recode just refuses to import from the start. I have no desire to test DVD Shrink but I'd be willing to bet it will end up being problematic as was Blade - HoC. If people don't own CloneDVD then use the AnyDVD ripper initially and then do whatever they want with Nero Recode or DVD Shrink.

    Glad to help. :) I'm definitely done doing any testing on these discs.

    People will need to do some testing of their own now. Some people probably have bad discs since at least one person on CDF reported they got a bad copy of The Hoax and returned it for a replacement and then it worked fine. Other people probably have some problematic garbage on their systems such as DirectCD, InCD, DLA, etc.

    In the end, we cannot read minds and I'm not willing to even try.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007