• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Subtitles question

Nathan Miller

Sorry for the newb question but this is my first time using CloneBD. I'm a veteran CloneDVD user from the Slysoft days and now I'm moving to CloneBD as it appears the product has matured. I have a couple questions for things I'm trying to understand the purpose and operation of:

- When making an MKV I have the option of "with selectable subtitles" or "with permanent subtitles" and I'm trying to figure out what the real difference is and what is the purpose of that selection? I cannot find good documentation or any posts on it anywhere. It seems to only show a difference in Player mode and in that mode it just changes my ability to select a single option (selectable circles) vs. multiple (square boxes)....but what is the purpose of that? I'm obviously missing something.

- My second question is around forced subtitles. I know this feature was added not too long ago but I was wondering what this feature did. Meaning. I know I can select subtitle tracks when in player mode and some of those are forced subtitles. I guess my question is what did the forced subtitles feature add to improve my ability to select it manually? Does it have some ability to identify forced subtitle tracks and highlight them to the user (me) as I'm not seeing it in my Star Wars BD...as an example. Would love it if someone could shed some light here around how this feature mention below works?

1.1.2.0 2017-01-20
- Added grace period until end of February 2017 for expired licenses
- New: support forced subtitles