Setting up a Media Server - Help

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by MovieMatt, Mar 12, 2007.

1. MovieMatt

MovieMatt Member

I am new to AnyDVD and these formums, so please forgive me if the questions are pedantic.

I am trying to setup a media server (Windows XP Pro based system). I have copied a couple of my DVDs to the hard drive (Thanks to AnyDVD and Clone DVD using the DVD Files option)). I tried to use media player, etc to play the movies but I received an error.

What is the right way to store these files on the harddrive (if my end goal is to server them from a harddrive and not to copy them). What software will I need to play them, etc.

Thanks is advance,

- Matt

2. Coaster

Coaster Well-Known Member

@ MovieMatt,

Welcome to the Forum.

Suggest obtaining a “Real” software DVD viewing program such as Power DVD or WinDVD and not relying on the crap Microsoft Media Player.

Regards,
    Coaster

3. oldjoe

oldjoe Well-Known Member

Do as Coaster suggested.

4. James

James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

ZoomPlayer & NVIDIA PureVideo Decoder (or TheaterTek) plus ReClock.

5. Clams

Clams Well-Known Member

If you're going to be playing them over a higher end display or projection - I'd reccomend TheaterTek as well. If not, PowerDVD is just fine.

-W

6. G-Omaha

G-Omaha Well-Known Member

Save the movies as .ISO files and download VLC, a free viewer. It works great and the price is right... Also, all the files for the movie are contained in one file making it easier to move/manage, when needed.

7. DrinkLyeAndDie

DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

[OT]
    I'd never heard of TheaterTek before as a software DVD player but thanks for mentioning it. It's impressive.
    [/OT]

8. MovieMatt

MovieMatt Member

DVD Viewers

Thanks for all the feedback. I will definitely check out your recommendations. I am curious about all the files that are created when a DVD is ripped onto the harddrive.