possible virus?? per suggested link

Discussion in 'CloneCD' started by MrBarlo, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. MrBarlo

    MrBarlo New Member

    I followed your link to the program site "Protection ID" and PC-Cillin has marked this program file as a virus. Please check this out...Thanks

    "Please answer these questions before posting about PC games or protected discs "

    Instruction 6 says:

    6. What protection does your game use? Don't know? Find out before posting about issues (and include that information)! Use Protection ID. It's a free program. Use ProtectionID and scan your HD directory where the game is installed (right click the icon on your toolbar, and select "scan files/folders"). Or just scan the main program .exe(s) that you find in the game directory on your hard drive. Provide the protection name and the version number.
  2. mike20021969

    mike20021969 Well-Known Member

    i think you can safely say this program is NOT a virus if you download it from the suggested site that webslinger links too in the sticky found here http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=9352.
    this is the site in the link:
    your anti-virus software is giving you an error with this program.
    contact trend micro and tell them about the incorrect virus notification with this program.

    in reply to what devilmaster posted below,the program is FREE.you cant really expect it to have all the bells and whistles of a purchased program.
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  3. devilsmaster

    devilsmaster Member

    I dont feel too good about that screenshots so i just dont download it and come straight here for telling it to you, as it seems to be as the trap door or a trozan like thing to me, sorry if it is not i am just making estimate.
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    There is nothing bad associated with that link, period.

    The antivirus program is giving a false positive.
  5. pseudo555

    pseudo555 Moderator (fr)

    If you are not sure about a file, there is a way to check it :

    I know this seems to be an ad, but the file you send is scanned by :
    * AhnLab (V3)
    * Aladdin (eSafe)
    * ALWIL (Avast! Antivirus)
    * Authentium (Command Antivirus)
    * Avira (AntiVir)
    * Bit9 (FileAdvisor)
    * Cat Computer Services (Quick Heal)
    * ClamAV (ClamAV)
    * CA Inc. (Vet)
    * Doctor Web, Ltd. (DrWeb)
    * Eset Software (ESET NOD32)
    * ewido networks (ewido anti-malware)
    * Fortinet (Fortinet)
    * FRISK Software (F-Prot)
    * F-Secure (F-Secure)
    * Grisoft (AVG)
    * Hacksoft (The Hacker)
    * Ikarus Software (Ikarus)
    * Kaspersky Lab (AVP)
    * McAfee (VirusScan)
    * Microsoft (Malware Protection)
    * Norman (Norman Antivirus)
    * Panda Security (Panda Platinum)
    * Prevx (Prevx1)
    * Rising Antivirus (Rising)
    * Secure Computing (Webwasher)
    * Softwin (BitDefender)
    * Sophos (SAV)
    * Sunbelt Software (Antivirus)
    * Symantec (Norton Antivirus)
    * VirusBlokAda (VBA32)
    * VirusBuster (VirusBuster)

    If more than a half found something, it can't be a false positive...
  6. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Jotti's Malware Scan is also useful.

    AVG Antivirus
    F-Prot Antivirus
    F-Secure Anti-Virus
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus
    Norman Virus Control
    Panda Antivirus
    Rising Antivirus
    Sophos Antivirus