Playing back DVD's and they freeze half way through movie!

Discussion in 'CloneDVD' started by beautyfiend, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    Im using the trial versions of Any DVD and CloneDVD at the moment and I intend to buy them. But at the moment i have a problem with Clone DVD....
    I manage to clone the DVD and everything seems fine untill I try to watch the disc's. About 20 or 30 mins into each film it freezes and is all broken up for the rest of the film. Which is really annoying! :mad:
    I dont know if its the DVD+R's im using or my computer burner.
    I have a Dell and it came with Sonic Record Now (version7).
    The disc's I'm using are Maxell...
    Can anyone recomend what disc i should use? Does it have to dual layer?
    Any help greatly appeciated!
     
  2. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    Im using the trial versions of Any DVD and CloneDVD at the moment and I intend to buy them. But at the moment i have a problem with Clone DVD....
    I manage to clone the DVD and everything seems fine untill I try to watch the disc's. About 20 or 30 mins into each film it freezes and is all broken up for the rest of the film. Which is really annoying! :mad:
    I dont know if its the DVD+R's im using or my computer burner.
    I have a Dell and it came with Sonic Record Now (version7).
    The disc's I'm using are Maxell...
    Can anyone recomend what disc i should use? Does it have to dual layer?
    Any help greatly appeciated!
     
  3. mike20021969

    mike20021969 Well-Known Member

    the problem isnt with clonedvd or anydvd.you said yourself you can watch part of the film before the errors appear.
    it sounds like it is a blank media/disc problem (as you can back up the original dvd).
    try another brand like verbatim (i'm sounding like other posters now:D ) and also lower the burn speed...(did i really say 'burn speed'??)
    good luck;)
     
  4. steake

    steake Well-Known Member

    Here´s the German Forum.
    try Verbatim Rohls, they are the best for Movie DVD´s
     
  5. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Do not create multiple threads about the exact same issue.


    1. Update your burner's firmware (if available)
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=12794&postcount=10
    2. Use good quality media
    visit http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4764653&postcount=25
    and
    http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3976250
    3. Try lowering your burn speed (not below 4x; if you have a 16x burner and 16x rated media try writing to it at 12x instead of 16x)
    4. If you're using +R, +RW, or +R DL media, change the booktype to "dvd-rom"
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 (step 3)
    5. Avoid sticker labels (they tend to cause problems)
    6. Try setting a custom size of 4300 in Clonedvd (but if you're using good media, you shouldn't have to)


    Bad burn quality is notorious around the end of discs
    and also at layer breaks when using low quality DL media (use Verbatim +R DL media, and change the booktype to "dvd-rom)


    Also, check the preview screen in Clonedvd to ensure you're backing up the proper title.


    read http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 fully please
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2007
  6. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

  7. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  8. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Then the answer is no; you didn't check.

    Do http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 (step 3)

    Because if you can't do it, I'm not sure there's a point in you buying +R media.
     
  10. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    My computer wont burn onto dvd-r only dvd+r.
     
  11. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Last edited: Apr 15, 2007
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  13. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    Summary for drive D: (AnyDVD 6.1.3.3)
    _NEC DVD+RW ND-3100AD 107E 04061100
    Drive (Hardware) Region: 2


    Where do i access the booktype?
     
  14. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    recommended media list for your drive:

    visit http://www.de.nec.de/software/1677_Media_List_for_16x_DVD_Writer_(DVT).pdf

    Use one of the (Premium--not value line) Taiyo Yudens dvd+rs listed instead.

    The Verbatim that you linked to originally might actually be Taiyo Yuden, but the site says "MCC", so it probably isn't TY.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  16. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    You have to follow step 3 from http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476
    (I.E. Try the steps listed for Nero cd-dvd speed and imgburn)
    Otherwise, you can't.
     
  18. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    Do you mean on clonedvd i select dvd-rom? is that what you mean by booktype?
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    No. That's not what I mean. You can't change booktype in Clonedvd. You can do it if you read step 3 from
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476

    use Nero cd-dvd speed to do this if you have to: http://www.cdspeed2000.com/
    This is a free program. (Click "Extra", then "Bitsetting". Make the change to "dvd-rom" and click "set".)

    If Nero cd-dvd speed doesn't work for you (options are greyed out), do this:

    a) Download and install imgburn:
    http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download
    This is also a free program
    b) Insert your blank media in your burner.
    c) Select your burner in the "Destination" drop down box.
    d) Click "Tools"-->"Drive"-->"Change Booktype"
    e) Choose your burner type
    f) Under "Change For:", select what you're using
    g) If your current setting is "dvd-rom", leave everything alone and exit Imgburn and ignore step "h)"
    h) Under "New setting", select "dvd-rom". Click "Change" and then "Ok". Exit Imgburn

    Some drives lose their settings each time you eject, so you might have to do this each and every time before you burn.

    You can skip this step if your burner defaults booktype to "dvd-rom" automatically with the various +R types of blank media.
    You can also skip this step if you're using dvd-r, dvd-rw, or dvd-r dl
     
  20. beautyfiend

    beautyfiend Active Member

    use Nero cd-dvd speed to do this if you have to: http://www.cdspeed2000.com/
    This is a free program. (Click "Extra", then "Bitsetting". Make the change to "dvd-rom" and click "set".)

    just did that and it said it was already on dvd-rom.