Night at the Museum & Deja Vu

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by mrjohnnycat, May 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrjohnnycat

    mrjohnnycat New Member

    I have tried numerous times to copy Deja Vu with no luck. I am using any & clone. It is able to rip to the files to the hard drive and you can burn to disc but the files become corrupt and even when you unselect the directors comments they become mixed in the normal viewing? Any one been able to solve this? Night at the museum get's an error? Has anyone rip this movie with success?

    John
     
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Lots of people have had no issues with either film. However, you should
    update to Anydvd 6.1.4.2. You are, in both cases, likely selecting the wrong title in Clonedvd (and if you're not ripping with Clonedvd, you should be).


    The best options are listed in order:

    1. The best way to rip using Anydvd is to use Clonedvd2 (if you want video files and not a sector 1:1 rip).

    If you can't or are not willing to do Step 1, this is how you rip using Anydvd:

    2. a) Alternatively, you don't need to rip at all and can just directly import the disc into whatever burning application you want, provided Anydvd is running in the background. You don't necessarily need to rip first at all. Not having to rip first at all is one major advantage of using Anydvd.

    b) With the latest version of Anydvd running, drag and drop the video_ts folder to your desktop using Windows Explorer.

    Options 2a) and 2b) should produce the same results.


    3. If you can't get what you want using #1 and #2 first, then you right click on the fox icon on your toolbar and select "rip video-dvd to hard disk"--but only if methods 1 and 2 fail first.

    "6.1.4.1 2007 05 02
    - New (DVD): AnyDVD ripper rewritten from scratch. It is no
    longer based on FixVTS code but on the powerful copy engine of
    CloneDVD2, licensed from Elaborate Bytes AG. If you want more
    control (stream selection, main movie only selection, ...) we
    recommend elby CloneDVD2 available at http://www.slysoft.com"


    Please note that this sticky does not apply to the HD-DVD/Blu-Ray ripper option in Anydvd HD, which you should be using for those respective formats.
     
  3. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    You aren't correctly ripping the DVD. CloneDVD by default sees Title 2 as the longer title and selects it as the main movie. You actually want Title 1 and not Title 2. Title 1 is the theatrical release and Title 2 is the movie with commentary and behind the scenes stuff spliced in throughout the movie.

    You need to follow the directions that have been posted about this before.

    Voila! The movie plus menus.

    I have no experience with this movie.
     
  4. customshopkv1

    customshopkv1 Well-Known Member

    No problems with this movie R1
     
  5. Zeta

    Zeta Well-Known Member

    No problems backing up Deja Vu or Night at the Museum with AnyDVD and CloneDVD although the Deja Vu disk is loaded with different protections. :)
     
  6. Arctic_Zeus

    Arctic_Zeus New Member


    AnyDVD 6.4.1.2 is not available for download that I can find...it was suggested to update to it, but where do I get it? I am having issues with Night at the Museum as well (director tracks blah).

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2007
  7. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    Read here. And it's 6.1.4.2 not 6.4.1.2. :)
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2007
  8. Arctic_Zeus

    Arctic_Zeus New Member

    Thank you very much 8)
     
  9. Arctic_Zeus

    Arctic_Zeus New Member

    Re: A Night at the Museum

    :( I updated AnyDVD and I am still having the problem with getting only director commentary.

    I am running AnyDVD and Clone DVD.

    I tried Clone, and I tried Copy, both with the same results.

    What information can I give someone to get this figured out?

    Thanks!!!
     
  10. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    Do NOT select the AC3/2 track. You MUST select the AC3/6 track.
     
  11. EQUINOX2005

    EQUINOX2005 New Member

    Had no problems With Night At The Museum but Deja Vu gave me hell

    Im using anydvd6.1.3.6 with CopytodvdSE my Burner is a Sony drx 820u to read & write on my main PC & a Sony drx 810 to write Philips single layer drive to read on my 2nd older PC


    Deja Vu is a dual layer disk

    1st try read & write with the Sony 820
    all options unchecked on copytodvd did not work director came in within 10 min of the start of the movie

    2nd try read & write with the Sony 820
    turned on extra episodes Movie menus & subtitles in Copytodvd came up with 29% compresion
    The movie played fine in a drive & dvd player that can read a duallayer disk I puy the disk in a older computer that has a drive that can not read dual layer disks cameup with the sameproblem as the 1st try
    I dont know why the movie works in one but not in the other ???? my last broblem was 16 blocks & no sound that must have been about 6 to 8 mos or more. fixed that by turning on some of the extras like subtitles & all languages.

    I gave it some thought & read the movie with the drive that cant read the
    2nd layer on my other PC its a philips drive & burned with the Sony 810. with all options unchecked in Copytodvd

    that worked just fine for me with my dvd player & all 3 Drives in my pc's

    Hope this helps & maybe can someone explain why the movie played fine in a dual layer dvd player & my computer but not in a drive that cant read the
    2nd layer
     
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Your version of Anydvd is outdated: visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=3986


    Most here are not familiar with copytodvd software. However, you may have selected the wrong title or audio to backup.

    I would expect that drive is dying or simply has issues with whatever blank media you're using (if you used "+R" blank media, you may need to change the booktype to "dvd-rom"). As your backup works in other players, your backup is fine.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  13. mmdavis

    mmdavis Well-Known Member

    CopyToDVD I believe is a free software that comes with 1Click. I haven't tried it myself (although I do have 1Click) but if you are able to select titles, make sure you are selecting Title 1 with the AC3/6 audio. Some software is selecting Title 2 because it is longer thinking it is the actual movie, but that is incorrect.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  14. EQUINOX2005

    EQUINOX2005 New Member

    SORRY it is 1 Click ver. 4.2 i was looking at my other pc. when i did the last post & CopytoDvd is where i go to change the drive speed.

    It has worked for me for over 1 1/2 years with only 2 problems since I did this setup with many backups.

    the philips drive is only about 8 mos. old I use it to read only I got it about the time Sony came out with the 830 drive 18 speed that drive is also in my older pc but because the pc. is Sony Vaio about 6 years old the way its setup the drive is the top position is fast & the drive in the lower position is very slow I was going to switch them since the 830 is a much better drive i just have not done it yet since the set up is working for now the pc. is only a pen. 4 1600 with 512 ram & I can read & burn a movie as fast as my other pc A HP pen. D 2300 with 2G of ram.

    I do have another issue with the HP computer ever since i installed 2nd hard drive ( 500 g sata )to back up some of my media to the drive then to a disk the 2 internal drives have slowed down by about 2 to 3 times I could read a movie under 10 min now it takes 20 to 30 min. no problem with the external drive ? Anyone have any ideas why this has happend I run the Alienwere dock on both computer & that tells you how much ram & Cpu you are using when I do a Movie ram is at 20% & Cpu is about 13 % so i have plenty of power in the computer ? The other day I had to move some picture to a memory stick about 1.5 G & it took a long time 20 min. plus.
    The Pc only started doing this after i installed the 2nd hard drive? Thats why i'm usid the Sony 820 thats connected to the HP to read & write. it might have somethink to do with the hard drive monitor program that came with the drive but what does not makesense is that i have plenty of power in the computer when I do this ???

    And I'm using Sony dvd-r disks 1 to 16 speed never had a problem with a disk.

    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I wouldn't expect version 4.x of 1-Click to be able to handle the newer protections that are found on newer releases--without using Anydvd ripper from Anydvd 6.1.4.2 or later.

    As for slow speeds, ensure source and destination drives are not sharing the same ide cable--and ensure DMA is enabled for your optical drives.
     
  16. mmdavis

    mmdavis Well-Known Member

    The newest version for 1Click is 5.2.0.9 so you are very behind and need to update for best results with the newer releases.

    Webslinger is correct with the previous post. Make sure that your burner is set to DMA and is on the Master connector on the IDE ribbon cable. If the reader and the burner are on the same IDE, or if the HDD that is being used as the Temp file is on the IDE it can only do one function at a time (read or burn). That will dramatically cut down on time.

    One other thing to try is to use the same drive as the reader and burner to see if it works. You can try this with both burners to see if one has a problem, just make sure that the burner is on the Master connector and set to DMA.
     
  17. EQUINOX2005

    EQUINOX2005 New Member


    Up till now It's working without any problems with AnyDvd I back up about 10 new releses per week . Knock on wood :bowdown: and with this setup I only had 2 problems both wich I was able to fix 16 Blocks No sound & the Daja Vu with the extras coming in & out 16 blocks was fixed with the 2nd read
    Daja Vu & this one I got working on the 2nd read but i wanted to make sure it would play in a old dvd player that cant read dual layer disks did that on the 3 read with a little bit of thinking if you read the back of the box on Deja VU it says some of the extras cant be played with a old machine so I guess the main movie is on the 1 st layer of the disk & the extras are on the 2nd layer
     
  18. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    The problem may arise with newer Sony/Lionsgate releases. In particular, read http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=3992

    By the way, as your issues with backing up having nothing to do with Anydvd, I would recommend posting your 1-Click issues here



    That should have no bearing on anything if you're testing a normal single layer backup in that drive.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  19. EQUINOX2005

    EQUINOX2005 New Member

    I have tested all the movies listed in the 1st part of the post without any problems
     
  20. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Then Anydvd must be doing a significantly better job than I realized because 1-Click's own CPRx feature wasn't updated until version 5.1.1.9 to handle Casino Royale. Of course, CPRx should be disabled when running Anydvd anyway . . .

    "(March 20, 2007) Updates: This version includes a CPRx update for movies that are authored similarly to "Casino Royale" and "The Holiday", which may contain bad sectors. Bug Fixes: We no longer check hard disc space if we are doing an exact copy from a folder (no caching required). Added: If you attempt to overwrite data in a "Destination" folder with the same name as the current DVD volume, you will get a warning message."--from 1-Click's history log

    Regardless, your issues have nothing to do with Anydvd.
    I would recommend posting at 1-Click's forums instead: visit http://forum.lgsoftwareinnovations.com/
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.