Just updated CloneDVD and now none of my

Discussion in 'CloneDVD' started by loop, May 28, 2007.

  1. loop

    loop Member

    blank DVD-R discs are being recognized. Why?
     
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    What does not being recognized mean? Not recognized by what program?

    1. answer 6, 8 and 9 from here

    2. Do steps 3 and 4 from here (step 4 requires you to post information)

    3 . Update your burner's firmware (if available)
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=12794&postcount=10

    4. Use good quality media (Memorex, Ritek, Princo, Fuji, TDK from Costco, and Maxell that are not made in Japan are not good quality media). Use Taiyo Yuden 8x Premium, Verbatim, Maxell Plus, or Maxell Broadcast Quality
    If you use poor quality blank media, then you should expect problems.
    visit http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4764653&postcount=25
    and
    http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3976250

    5. read http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 fully please
     
  3. mike20021969

    mike20021969 Well-Known Member

    i think he means that when he puts blank discs in his dvd drive-the drive doesnt show that a disc has been inserted (it might have shown something like Blank DVD-R disc) where as now it just says the name of the drive.[when my drive has no disc in it it shows as 'DVD-RAM Drive (E: ) ].
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2007
  4. loop

    loop Member

    exactly.

    Before the update...all well....since the update...when it comes to the burning the disc bit...it says to insert valid disc :doh:

    The disc (before and after the upgrade) are top quality TY dye DVD-R.
     
  5. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    No. That's not the same at all. mmdavis isn't referring to error message information clonedvd reports while you are.

    a)What drive letter is your burner?
    b)What drive letter do you put the original disc in?
    c)What drive letter is Clonedvd requesting for you to put the blank media in?
    d) What is the make and model of your burner?
    e) Exactly what is the rated speed of the TY media?

    1. answer 6 (I want media codes, folks), 8 and 9 from here

    2. Do steps 3 and 4 from here (step 4 requires you to post information)

    3 . Update your burner's firmware (if available)
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=12794&postcount=10
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  6. loop

    loop Member

    Hi, thanks for replies, before I do stuff above I have discovered the following. Since updating AnyDVD and CloneDVD last night my blank Panasonic branded 16 speed TY dyed DVD-R discs are not being recognized in either drive (even in Nero tool kit). Discs I have already burnt of the same type are being seen in either drive instantly. I was burning discs succesfully immediately before the updates.

    I have 2 optical drives 'D' (DVD Rom) and 'E' (DVD RW)
     
  7. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I need you to answer my previous reply (you need to do what was requested) and for you to follow the steps as I outlined.
     
  8. loop

    loop Member

    a)What drive letter is your burner?

    E


    b)What drive letter do you put the original disc in?

    D

    c)What drive letter is Clonedvd requesting for you to put the blank media in?

    E

    d) What is the make and model of your burner?

    MATSHITA DVD-RAM SW-9585 B100


    e) Exactly what is the rated speed of the TY media?

    16

    1. answer 6 (I want media codes, folks), 8 and 9 from here

    Panasonic DVD-R for VIDEO 1-16X 120 min TY. GH00073

    and TY GH000125

    2. Do steps 3 and 4 from here (step 4 requires you to post information)

    3 Done

    4

    Filter Check Tool v3.4

    No Upper Filters found.

    A Lower Filter found is: ElbyDelay
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: ElbyDelay
    Caption: ElbyDelay
    Description: ElbyDelay
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: ElbyDelay
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\ElbyDelay.sys
    Version Info: 5.1.0.1
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0


    A Lower Filter found is: AnyDVD
    Filterdriver properties are:
    Name: AnyDVD
    Caption: AnyDVD
    Description: AnyDVD
    AcceptPause: False
    AcceptStop: True
    DesktopInteract: False
    DisplayName: AnyDVD
    ErrorControl: Normal
    ExitCode: 0
    PathName: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\AnyDVD.sys
    Version Info: 6.1.5.5
    ServiceSpecificExitCode: 0
    ServiceType: Kernel Driver
    Started: True
    StartMode: Manual
    StartName:
    State: Running
    Status: OK
    TagId: 0

    3 . Update your burner's firmware (if available)
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=10

    Couldn't find update



    Cheers
     
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Matshita (Panasonic oem) burners should really be avoided. They are cheap junk, die easily, and also suffer from region coding issues:
    Click http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=637240&postcount=2


    Your filters look fine.

    1) Uninstall Anydvd

    a) Keep your license key file backed up safely
    b) Uninstall Anydvd (start-->all programs-->Slysoft--->Anydvd-->Uninstall)
    c) Reboot

    2) Uninstall Clonedvd

    a) Keep your license key file backed up safely
    b) Uninstall Clonedvd (start-->all programs-->Elaborate Bytes--->Clonedvd2-->Uninstall)
    c) Reboot

    3. Try another program and see your burner will now burn that blank media
     
  10. loop

    loop Member

    Hi, thanks for quick reply.

    I have already uninstalled then re-installed both anyDVD and CloneDVD. (And Nero 7)

    Have tried DVDShrink and Nero, (and Nero toolkit) and blank discs are just not seen in the drive.

    Last night I burnt 2 DVD's succesfully using CloneDVD, CloneDVD reported a new update available, so I did it (and AnyDVD) rebooted, then this. CloneDVD (or DVDShrink for that matter) go through the process, then when it gets to the burning part, it acts like there is no disc in, when there is. Yet the last 2 DVD's I burnt last night are instantly recognized in both drives.
     
  11. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Follow these steps please:

    1) Uninstall Anydvd

    a) Keep your license key file backed up safely
    b) Uninstall Anydvd (start-->all programs-->Slysoft--->Anydvd-->Uninstall)
    c) Reboot

    2) Uninstall Clonedvd

    a) Keep your license key file backed up safely
    b) Uninstall Clonedvd (start-->all programs-->Elaborate Bytes--->Clonedvd2-->Uninstall)
    c) Reboot

    3. At this point (with Anydvd and Clonedvd uninstalled) try another program and see if your burner will now burn that blank media
     
  12. shannon90210

    shannon90210 Well-Known Member

  13. loop

    loop Member

    Sorry mis-understood.

    Have uninstalled both, and the discs are still not being seen with Nero tool kit.

    Thanks Shannon. Attempted firmwhere upgrade it said

    DOWNLOAD NOGOOD

    Then it said re-boot, which I did.
     
  14. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator


    Then this issue has absolutely nothing to do with Clonedvd nor Anydvd.
    Since the programs are not installed, they can not affect anything.

    Here are my thoughts:

    1. You can try other sites or try contacting Matshita (you might have to go through Panasonic's website for Matshita; I'm not sure. As Matshita is Panasonic oem brand, you might not have any luck regardless) for a firmware upgrade.

    Did you try the OEM B101 link?

    2. Your burner might be dying (which wouldn't surprise me given it's a Matshita). Try it in another system to confirm.

    3. You've run across some bad blank discs. Try different blank media (try Verbatim)

    4. Try another cable on the back of the drive (ensure it's an 80 wire able)


    But your issue doesn't have anything to do with Clonedvd nor Anydvd.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  15. mike20021969

    mike20021969 Well-Known Member

    you could try doing a system restore to a date (yesterday perhaps?) when you know you could burn discs (this will give you back your previous versions of anydvd and clonedvd2).
    then see if your drive sees you have put a blank disc in it.