• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Is it possible to make a 1:1 backup of Blu-Ray or HD-DVD ??

Tummy Tuckler

Forgive me, I am pretty new to DVDs in High Definition, so I didn't see this in a FAQ or anything. If I did and missed it, please point me to it and accept my apologies.

I'm basically assuming that you can create a disc image of a Blu-Ray DVD using AnyDVD HD plus Nero or Img-Burn or something else, then burn that image to a blank Blu-Ray disc to create a 1:1 backup. Am I correct about that?

I'm also assuming that you can create a disc image of a HD-DVD using AnyDVD and Nero or Img-Burn or something else... but there currently are no consumer burners or blanks available for HD-DVD. So does that mean you can't create a working 1:1 backup of the HD-DVD disc image? Or is it possible to burn the HD-DVD disc image to a blank Blu-Ray disc?

Yes I know Blu-Ray blanks are expensive right now (and so are the burners) so it probably just makes more sense at this point to buy two copies of the original if you want a backup... but that will change. Plus, I want to learn. :)

Forgive me, I am pretty new to DVDs in High Definition, so I didn't see this in a FAQ or anything. If I did and missed it, please point me to it and accept my apologies.

I'm basically assuming that you can create a disc image of a Blu-Ray DVD using AnyDVD HD plus Nero or Img-Burn or something else, then burn that image to a blank Blu-Ray disc to create a 1:1 backup. Am I correct about that?