• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

DVD-ROM Drive Not Reading - Advice?

J-Mac

I just started having some problems with DVDs being recognized in both of my optical drives. I have two optical drives installed:

Sony DVD-ROM DDU1615
Sony DVD/CD Writer DDU820a

Both have the latest firmware installed (Though neither has had a firmware update in a few years)

I am running Windows XP Pro, SP2

CD/DVD-related Software:

AnyDVD 6.5.1.8, CloneDVD 2.9.2.0, and CloneCD 5.3.1.3

I have been using both AnyDVD and CloneDVD for years - almost three years on this box - without issues. I was able to backup DVDs using AnyDVD and CloneDVD as recently as two weeks ago.

Problem started when I installed CloneCD. The first time I tried to backup a DVD after installing CloneCD the DVD-ROM drive had trouble reading the disc - it was "30 Days of Night". So I tried several other DVDs including some that I had just successfully burned in the previous month. (E.g., Michael Clayton, Burn Notice Season 1, Saving Grace Season 1). All Region 1 DVDs. None are recognized by the DVD-ROM drive now. Actually I am seeing the same with the Sony DVD writer drive, but not as frequently.