DVD Rebuilder questions (was Compressing with CloneDVD or DVD Shrink)

Discussion in 'Third Party Products' started by bryanbeagle, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    I'm a novice at backing up dvd's. Quick question: Would using clonedvd to convert to .iso (dvd5) be the same as using clonedvd to covert to ts folder (dvd9) and then using dvd shrink (maximum sharpness compression) to convert it to .iso? I noticed Clone does not give you a quality option.

    Does shrink's maximum sharpness really make a big difference in quality?
    Or does clonedvd do the basically the same, but all in one step?

    Thanks for all your help, if i could do away with 'shrink' that would be great. But, if that sharpness function really helps the quality, then maybe not.
     
  2. Hawk

    Hawk Well-Known Member

    Bryanbeagle , welcome to forum. Your question has nothing to do with ANydvdHD, so it belongs in different form. Two possibilities are third party or clone dvd form. As for your question.

    No, whenever you compress dvd it is not the same. As for the quality clone dvd doesn’t produce very high quality compare to shrink. But if you are using clone dvd to pre process dvd. Then in that case you might just use anydvd function rip to harddrive. And import directly to shrink.
     
  3. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I don't know why you'd want to compress to dvd-5 unless you were burning, but if that's what you want, you'd be much better off using Clonedvd to rip files to your hard drive, uncompressed (select "dvd-9" near the quality bar) and using DVD Rebuilder (google it) instead of Shrink.


    You should.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2009
  4. Hawk

    Hawk Well-Known Member

    Now we are talking DVD Rebuilder and Cinema Craft Encoder with 4 pass can't be beaten in quality.

    Tip
    For long movies more than 2 hours (Canopus pro coder) By grass valley
    For genral movies Cinema Craft Encoder
    For Animation HC Encoder
     
  5. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    thanks for all your help...will the freeware version of dvd rebuilder compress it...or do i need the full version to make things happen
     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Freeware version of dvd rebuilder will do compression. But remove what you don't want in Clonedvd, and rip first using Clonedvd (select "dvd+/-r DL" near the quality bar in Clonedvd). Dvd Rebuilder comes with the freeware HC encoder. Just use that to encode.
     
  7. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    Webslinger,
    After you use rebuilder (step one) to process, (step 2) you open HC encoder and press "encode" on rebuilder (took me a while to figure that out) and then for step 3, would all you need to do is press "rebuild" on the rebuilder??? Are there any other program that i need to buy or install for the rebuilding step???...or will the rebuilder finish the process???...where will the end result end up, in the working or the output folder???....what type of files will dvd rebuilder produce???

    Thanks for all your info
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Not really

    dvd-video standard files

    Other questions concerning dvd rebuilder should be directed to their forums:
    http://dvd-rb.dvd2go.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=1
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  9. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    I dont know anything about dvdnextcopy???..which version of dvdnextcopy is this??? standard???....does the sandard version compress from dvd9-dvd5???...im trying to find a way to compress without the use of shrink...shrinks quality just isnt that great... rebuilders ok, kinda hard of use, but it wont backup discs with angles...i keep getting a angle/interleaving prompt...suggestions???
     
  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Dvd Rebuilder Pro does. You do need to pay for the Pro version. And trust me on this one: you're not going to get better PQ from dvdnextcopy than with HC encoder, CCE, or Procoder (with dvd rebuilder). If you want to remove angles, you can use Clonedvd mobile with .vob passthrough--and then you can use the freeware version of DVD Rebuilder if you want.

    Again, questions concerning dvd rebuilder should be directed to their forums:
    http://dvd-rb.dvd2go.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=1
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  11. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    webslinger
    that dvdrb forum isnt really active...no one even answers replies...any suggestions....thanks
     
  12. Carolina Mike

    Carolina Mike Well-Known Member

  13. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    If your burns with Shrink aren't"quality" perhaps you have some other issues. I use Shrink and ReCode and my quality is excellent.
    next copy is a very over priced software but I think it does have a very limited trial if you want to try it.
     
  14. bryanbeagle

    bryanbeagle Member

    dvd rebuilder/ccd basic

    alright thanks to webslinger whose been helping me...i need more help, ive gone through alot of resources but no one seems to be able to help me....so im coming back to this forum...
    ive tried rebuilder with hc encoder...great, but takes too long....so i bought cce basic...i havent changed any settings or anything....ive uninstalled and reloaded the programs (both rebuilder and cce basic) to try to solve this problem....i keep getting this message for the encoding part:
    Creating M2V for VTS_02 segment 36
    -- V02003600020002 empty .M2V, retrying.
    and this message for the rebuilding section:
    - Rebuilding seg 0 VOBID 1 CELLID 1
    - Possible dropped frame(s) [ 553 ] noted in this segment, continuing.

    end result is a backup that all messed up
    please help, are there any settings that im not enabling or that i need to disable
    also,
    [12:52:16] PREPARE/ENCODE/REBUILD completed in 51 min., that seems alittle short, right???!!!!


    HELP!
     
  15. gonwk

    gonwk Well-Known Member

    Hi folks,

    @ Bryan ... why do you need to use "Maximum Sharpness" in Shrink!!!

    If you are not Shrinking to less than 80% ... even 75% ... I don't think you can tell the difference on a regular TV.

    Best thing to do is to use Shrink to chop up a 100MB (or so) clip that has a lot of Details ... close-up of faces and so forth and then Test for yourself with Different Shrink's Settings ... then decide what looks good to you.

    @ OldJoe,

    Q1: When & Why do you swap between Shrink & ReCode!?!?

    Q2: What OS do you have?

    Thanks,

    G!:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  16. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    The best thing to do is to drop Shrink because both HC encoder and CCE walk all over it.
     
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator


    The Slysoft forums are really not the place to be troubleshooting this stuff. I'm really sorry, but between Anydvd, Clonedvd, Anydvd HD, Clonecd, and Game Jackal (in addition to all the moderation issues), I'm run ragged as it is. And I don't use CCE.

    Drinklyeanddie uses CCE. He may be able to give you some pointers, but otherwise I would try posting at the link Carlonia Mike offered.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  18. DrinkLyeAndDie

    DrinkLyeAndDie Retired Moderator

    I've never encountered a message like that when using DVD Rebuilder. I really don't know what to say about it.

    I'd really recommend that bryanbeagle try posting about that in the DVD Rebuilder forums where I am sure they've seen and heard all the different error messages that can appear.