Doh...

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by drguitar, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    Bought the complete package the other day... all the programs. My son has some favorite DVDs he watches over and over....

    Anyway, I just bought a new copy of Justice League (first season) and thought I would copy it so I can use the copy for him to ruin rather than continue buying new copies everytime he scratches the original. Wouldn't you know that Any DVD will not make a copy of this DVD. I get about half way through the DVD and AnyDVD finds errors it cannot read and it hangs.

    I read through the forums and tried just about every program and combination of programs that people suggest without luck. I was hoping the new release (today) would solve the problem, but still hangs at 54%.

    So now my desktop is cluttered with a dozen different programs and dozens of trys. :(

    Anyone else ever try to copy Justice League season one?
     
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  3. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    Thanks Webslinger, but I am not sure I have the energy to go through all this yet again. I can tell you that I read all of the above posts you listed immediately after the first problem I had copying the DVD. That started a tedious yet complete list of possibilities of ways for me to copy this silly disc. And I tried them all, methodically, one by one. And 12 hours of trying later, I was no where further along than when I started.

    Just for fun.. (lol) I may try to gather all the information you are looking for in your post. But not tonight... too tired and too frustrated...
     
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    An error message is necessary. And I need "step 8"

    Otherwise, it's impossible to tell what the problem is.

    Anydvd shouldn't be reading and hanging by the way, unless you're ripping with Anydvd. You should be using Clonedvd. That would be giving you the error message. That might stall and hang. It's unlikely that Anydvd would.

    You haven't provided enough information.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007
  5. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    CloneDVD2 gives me this error message:

    Data Error (cyclic redundancy check)

    And I have gotten this same error message from various DVD ripping software.

    And AnyDVD show this is status:

    Summary for drive E: (AnyDVD 6.1.2.3)
    PLEXTOR DVDRPX-712A 1.09 03/31/0610:00
    Drive (Hardware) Region: free

    Media is a Data DVD.
    Booktype: dvd-rom (version 1), Layers: 2 (opposite)
    Size of first Layer: 1749840 sectors (3417 MBytes)
    Total size: 3181401 sectors (6213 MBytes)

    Video DVD (or CD) label: JUSTICE_LEAGUE_S1_D1
    Media is CSS protected!
    Video Standard: NTSC
    Media is locked to region(s): 1 2 3 4!

    RCE protection not found.
    DVD structure appears to be correct.
    Structural copy protection not found.
    Autorun not found on Video DVD.
    Bad sector protection not found.
    Emulating RPC-2 drive with region 1!



    As a side note: I have already cleaned the brand new DVD to make sure there are no problems on the DVD. Interestingly enough, the old scratched DVD has the exact same error message and stops at the same place as the brand new disc. :(

    Does the above info help in some way?
     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  7. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Your drive's region might need to be set. If you're in region 1, disable Anydvd and set your drive to region 1.

    If you're still getting CRC errors after that, there's a chance the original disc might be bad even if it plays fine.
     
  8. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    Hey WS,

    Thanks for all the info. I already did all of the above in the posts you linked. I guess it is possible that the brand new DVD has some sort of problem. I also am wondering about my DVD burner (Plextor 712a). I use it a lot and it might be about to give up the ghost.

    Mostly, I am wondering about the copy protection on the disc.

    Anyway, thanks. After a while it gets to be more expensive for me to spend too many hours on such a simple thing (as making a copy of a DVD I own) than it is to just buy an extra disc for when they wear out.
     
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    But your drive is "region free":
    Drive (Hardware) Region: free

    Unless you change that to match the region of the disc you're using, you might have problems.

    This can cause problems.


    I don't see anything overly exciting in terms of protection in what you listed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007
  10. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    When I click on "properties" for my Plextor, it comes up "region 1". I have tried to re-select region 1, but nothing happens.

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  11. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Disable Anydvd when you attempt to set your region for your drive.

    After, when you look at that Anydvd status screen again and if it still says your drive is region free, then something is wrong.
     
  12. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    Got the region 1 going...

    Summary for drive E: (AnyDVD 6.1.2.3)
    PLEXTOR DVDRPX-712A 1.09 03/31/0610:00
    Drive (Hardware) Region: 1

    Media is a Data DVD.
    Booktype: dvd-rom (version 1), Layers: 2 (opposite)
    Size of first Layer: 1749840 sectors (3417 MBytes)
    Total size: 3181401 sectors (6213 MBytes)

    Video DVD (or CD) label: JUSTICE_LEAGUE_S1_D1
    Media is CSS protected!
    Video Standard: NTSC
    Media is locked to region(s): 1 2 3 4!

    RCE protection not found.
    DVD structure appears to be correct.
    Structural copy protection not found.
    Autorun not found on Video DVD.
    Bad sector protection not found.
    Emulating RPC-2 drive with region 1!


    Still getting the CRC error with the following note:

    File 1 E:/VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_4.VOB 23 TCSectorReader

    :(
     
  13. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I find it odd that a disc presumably bought in region 1 is showing as

    "Media is locked to region(s): 1 2 3 4!"

    I've never seen that before.
    Where did you obtain this disc from?

    Anyway, the crc read error would lead me to believe it's a problem with the original disc.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  14. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    The disc was bought locally (Sun Coast Video?}.
     
  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, without having anything to compare it against, I'll just assume you have the official commercial release. The crc error leads me to believe it's a bad original disc. Other than css protection (which almost all commercial releases have in region 1), there's nothing terribly interesting or new in terms of protection on that disc.

    If you're not having problems with other discs that would leave me to believe the problem is not with your drive, but the original disc.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  16. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    I was afraid that it might be a hardware issue (Plextor is dying). I replaced the drive with a new Lite-On drive and already it is reading much better. I let you know the end result after the final burn.


    EDIT:

    Yep, the DVD burner was on it's last legs. The new burner did the job without a hiccup. That's for the info WS. Sometimes you have to work backwards to find the problem...

    Thanks again!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    I'm sorry to hear that your burner died. Hardware failures are difficult to diagnose sometimes. Good for you for figuring it out! :clap:
     
  18. drguitar

    drguitar Member

    Yep, everything works like a charm! Who knew it could be this easy! I only wish I hadn't spent so many hours looking for a software/ripper problem. But whatever doesn't kill you, makes you stronger...

    Thanks again...
     
  19. jpmccusa

    jpmccusa Well-Known Member

    Multi Region but not Every Region

    This is actually pretty common, though the correct Region coding is rarely listed on the cover art. I have many that are for Regions 2 & 4, a few for Regions 2,4, & 5, at least one for Region 1 & 4 (which I can't show you as it requires Interactual), and here's the info for an Amazon purchase that is for Regions 1,3, & 4 [it doesn't say what the title is, but the disc is MOTORAMA]:


    Summary for drive J: (AnyDVD 6.1.2.3)
    PIONEER DVD-RWDVR-111D 1.29 06/08/10PIONEER
    Drive (Hardware) Region: 1

    Media is a Data DVD.
    Booktype: dvd-rom (version 1), Layers: 1
    Total size: 1684736 sectors (3290 MBytes)

    Video DVD (or CD) label: DVD_VIDEO
    Media is CSS protected!
    Video Standard: NTSC
    Media is locked to region(s): 1 3 4!

    Found & removed RCE protection!
    DVD structure appears to be correct.
    Structural copy protection not found.
    Changed firstplay: Jump directly to TitleMenu!
    Autorun not found on Video DVD.
    Bad sector protection not found.
    Emulating RPC-2 drive with region 1!

    The point is that if you really want to know what region your disc is, you have to examine it, not just the cover art!
     
  20. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Interesting, thank you . . .

    I've never seen a major studio release that was sold in North America that stated anything other than region 1 on it.