CloneDVD,Media write error

Discussion in 'CloneDVD' started by Garfios, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    Hi to everyone, for the past 2 days I haven't been able to copy any DVD, I'm getting this message "writing to video media was not successful", "Media write error "A write error has occurred, probably caused by a bad media". "Please replace the media and try again". "Details, WriteDVD 10 11 W2", I'm sure is not the blanks DVD, I tried to uninstall and install the SW, I'm using a HP dvd940i, I can copy anything with Nero, but not with clonedvd.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    1. Click this

    Do what it says to do.

    Also, check to see if there's a better ide/ata busmaster driver available for you possibly from your motherboard's support website if Microsoft's default drivers aren't working well for you.
    If you're not using Microsoft's default drivers, then please do.

    2. visit http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=21907&postcount=11 (thanks to Zebadee)
    Use one of the programs mentioned, and list your Lowerfilters and Upperfilters in your next post.

    Or for XP users only,
    Click Start, Run
    type regedit
    Go to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Current Control Set\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

    We want what's listed in "LowerFilters" and "UpperFilters". List your Lowerfilters and Upperfilters in your next post.

    3. Update your burner's firmware (if available)
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=10

    4. Use good quality media
    visit http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/s...3&postcount=25
    and
    http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/s....php?p=3976250

    5. Try lowering your burn speed (not below 4x; if you have a 16x burner and 16x rated media try writing to it at 12x instead of 16x)

    6. If you're using +R, +RW, or +R DL media, change the booktype to "dvd-rom"
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=476 (step 3)

    7. Avoid sticker labels (they tend to cause problems)

    8. Try setting a custom size of 4300 in Clonedvd (but if you're using good media, you shouldn't have to)


    Bad burn quality is notorious around the end of discs
    and also at layer breaks when using low quality DL media (use Verbatim +R DL media, and change the booktype to "dvd-rom)
     
  3. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    Thanks for your rapid response,
    this is from the registry:
    lowerFilters reg_multi_sz elbydelay anydvd pxhelp20
    upperFilters reg_multi_sz icdrm incdpass gearaspiWDM
    and this is from the filter driver load order:
    Upper Class Filter GEARAspiWDM
    Upper Class Filter InCDPass
    Upper Class Filter redbook
    device object HP DVD writer 940d

    Lower Class Filter PxHelp20
    Lower Class Filter anyDVD
    Lower Class Filter ElbyDelay
    Lower Device Filter imapi
     
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Uninstall Nero's Incd. Don't use packet writing software. I would recommend you learn how to use burning software without having to drag and drop files, since packet writing software not only tends to conflict with Anydvd and other programs--but also because packet writing tends to be unstable and less secure than using dvd-ram. If you prefer dragging and dropping files, I recommend you invest in a dvd-ram burner (and use dvd-ram) instead.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  5. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    After you uninstall incd, ensure both of those entries don't appear in your filters anymore.
     
  6. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    Thanks again, I will do what you suggest.
     
  7. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    no it didn't work, I uninstall the incd, and lowered the speed to 12, but only burned about 5% of the dvd. Thanks

    Ps. Where can I change to dvd-rom? clone dvd has "dvd-ram"
    I'm using lightScribe dvd+R 16 and TDK dvd+r 16, first time I have any kind of problem.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    1. What kind of blank media are you using?

    2. Are those entries gone from your filters? (icdrm
    incdpas)

    3. What make and model burner are you using?
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  11. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  12. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    That is the one that I had been using, dvd-5, thanks.
     
  13. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Are icdrm and incdpas no longer listed in your filters?

    Go back and read my previous replies (including upgrading your burner's firmware and using good quality blank media).
     
  14. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    no, they are gone.
     
  15. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  16. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    Thanks, I try that but I could not find any update for the hp 940i, I might buy another burner.Thanks again.
     
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Before you buy another burner, try taiyo yuden premium 8x dvd-rs.
     
  18. Garfios

    Garfios Member

  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Other than upgrading your burner's firmware and trying different blank media, I'm out of suggestions.
     
  20. Garfios

    Garfios Member

    I'll try a different media tomorrow, I can't find any firmware for the hp940i burner, I'll let you know how it went. Thanks.