• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Bitcoin payment and privacy

foxylady

OK so I've never used bitcoin before. But since you offer it as a payment method I looked into it and, as is so often the case, it's a little more complex than I thought. For me using BTC only makes sense if it increases my anonymity. Just going and buying bitcoins, then using those to purchase something does not do that, in contrast to many people's expectations (including mine).

I read up a bit, and I know that if I want to do it right, I will have to first see about buying BTC anonymously, then going the TOR way, preferably using a different OS from the Windows I'm using now (Tails for example), then start juggling with multiple wallets and mixers. However, since I do not plan on purchasing any goods from the darknet for the time being, that might be a little too much hassle.

So I'd like to take the "privacy light" route and since I am still unsure about many things I would appreciate any comments or recommendations.

What I did so far:
  • Installed Electrum and created a wallet.
  • Bought 10€ worth of BTC from AnycoinDirect for testing. They let you buy up to 100€ without checking your identity. So what links me there is the service I used to transfer the money from my bank account.
  • Found out about coin mixing and used CoinMixer to send the coins to myself using two different new addresses from my wallet. That worked, but I can't tell if it has improved anything, privacywise (or at least I don't know how to check).