AnyDVD: Disabled for Drive D:!

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by Jlerma, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    Hello,
    New install of AnyDVD 6.1.1.4 (new laptop). Installed, rebooted activated with key, I get:
    AnyDVD is disabled for Drive D:!
    SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A UDS2 2006/03/19 17:56
    System is XP, 1 GB Ram, 60 GB HD, logged in as user with admin priv.

    Any assistance would be appreciated.
     
  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator


    That's normal if you don't have an original movie in your drive.
     
  3. zebadee

    zebadee Well-Known Member

    Hi :)
    Are you sure that your statement is 100% correct? :D
     
  4. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    Thanks for the reply.
    I get the message if there is no DVD in the Drive, if there is a DVD in the Drive (original retail) and if there is a DVD of my home movies.......
     
  5. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, if you have a blank or nothing in your drive, you may get that message. It doesn't mean Anydvd isn't working.
     
  6. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    I get the message even with a brand new retail DVD.
     
  7. zebadee

    zebadee Well-Known Member

    Hi :)
    No I know that, but some might not. Just thought that your OP was at best misleading as the movie doesn't have to be original.(The info should differ as no protection etc should be found). Have a nice one.8)
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    For testing purposes, please stick with that option I quoted above only.
    Test with a movie after each step. If Anydvd works, don't try the other steps.


    1) Please visit your drive manufactuer's website to see if there is a firmware update for your drive. If so, update your drive's firmware.

    2) If you have Incd, Directcd or any packet writing software please uninstall it.


    3) Try enabling "safe mode" in Anydvd. Right-click the fox icon, select "settings"-->"program settings"--->"safe mode"

    4) Unclick "safe mode". Uninstall Anydvd. Reboot. Reinstall Anydvd. Reboot
     
  9. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    fair enough
     
  10. apacheslayer

    apacheslayer New Member

    No Drive found

    I had to replace my HP Laptop drive with a new drive to get it to work with some of the newer software due to the drive not having an updated firmware. I believe most laptop drives do not allow you to configure the Jumper switch ( mine needed to be set to CS) and you may need yours to be set differently than the factory defaults. It cost me about $96 to replace mine, but it was well worth that cost to have the ability to make archival back-up copies of my movies and such...
    Hope this helps..apacheslayer
     
  11. WiseMax

    WiseMax Member

    I have had all sorts of problems with DLA software (the trinket that allows you to use your DVD or CD like a removable drive, copying files to it on the fly, etc.)

    Remove (use Add/Remove Programs from Control Panel) the DLA in whichever incarnation (usually Sonic, Roxio or HP) and many disc burning problems will be gone forever!

    As for AnyDVD, there is interest in UNchecking the option "Show information window for new media" that appears under the section "Program Settings" in the Options of AnyDVD (causes unwanted messages to show).
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  12. zebadee

    zebadee Well-Known Member

    Hi
    Gotta luv those piccies.
    Blank DVD : - Should look like this.
    [​IMG]
    Backup DVD : - Should look like this.
    [​IMG]
    Original DVD : - Should look like this.
    [​IMG]
    Oh & No DVD : - Should look like this.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    Wisemax, I have the Roxio software that came with the Dell laptop, DLA software is installed but not enabled on the drive, do you think it matters?
     
  14. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Please remove all packet writing software.
     
  15. zebadee

    zebadee Well-Known Member

    Hi :)
    I agree the only packet you want is "packet all in" :p
    Yeah sad I know.:doh:
     
  16. bjproc

    bjproc Well-Known Member

    Zebadee, this is what i get with a blank in my BenQ

    it doesn't say it's disabled :confused:

    [​IMG]

    heres my other drives info

    [​IMG]

    I am getting ON:1, OFF:0, Empty:1, when i hover my curser over the red fox in the task bar
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    It depends on the drive (and possibly the system).

    I don't get that message on this computer--but I do get it on my laptop.
     
  18. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    I get this response with No Media in the drive with the drive closed.:confused:

    AnyDVD is disabled for Drive D:!
    SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A UDS2 2006/03/19 17:56
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    That's normal
     
  20. Jlerma

    Jlerma Member

    How can it be nornal (the Images above show with no disc present), when I get the same message when there is a disc in the drive?