AnyDVD 6.1.4.1 beta

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by James, May 2, 2007.

  1. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    No we didn't. Otherwise you wouldn't see the new ripper.

    I said it many times: You can and should CloneDVD to preprocess (yes, it is really, really good!) if you want to use Shrink to compress. Especially if you intend to keep the menus.

    What sense does this make? CloneDVD is faster than the ripper, so you should use CloneDVD for that job. Otherwise the ripper needs a complicated UI (you need to preview, what the main movie is, select if you want menus or not, select streams to include... in other words, you would need all the controls CloneDVD already has)
    If you use the ripper for programs like Shrink without using CloneDVD to rip, you can use Shrink's UI to select the correct title.
     
  2. SLaTheR-

    SLaTheR- Well-Known Member

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. :clap:

    For 2 years I always endorsed AnyDVD whenever my friends needed a good program for backing up. Then I had to change my mind after the Sony junk appeared. Now when I go back and re-endorse AnyDVD they are gonna think my meds need adjusting.

    This has always been the BEST tool in my arsenal, and now it will once again become the go-to app.

    Again thanks.:p
     
  3. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Most movies (with the exception of the Sony/Lionsgate nonsense) can be directly imported into either Shrink or Recode anyway with Anydvd running in the background--which is something ripit4me and dvdfab cannot provide. You can then rip a full disc or movie only backup if you wish using either Shrink or Recode.

    Also, it's very easy to select the main movie only after importing the Anydvd rip in either Shrink or Recode (and Recode has a menu option to "Recode the main movie only" anyway). Pretty simple . . .
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2007
  4. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    Just an opinion on this...and I use Recode and DVD Shrink for compression, so, don't think I'm giving an uneducated opinion here. :) But, there really isn't a pressing need to add movie only mode to AnyDVD and I very much doubt you'll ever see one added. It's not AnyDVD's job to determine what gets copied...that's the job of your encoding program. Its job is to simply remove all protection from a disc so that you can do whatever you want with it. Shrink and Recode can easily do a movie only copy from an AnyDVD rip. Yes, you'd save some time and hard drive space if AnyDVD could do the movie only rip, but, if you want convenience, use CloneDVD to rip. I know, that's an extra product you'd have to buy...I've heard the argument before. :) If you don't wish to buy CloneDVD, that's understandable, but, in my opinion, I just don't think adding this functionality to AnyDVD is the right thing to do.

    P.S. Before you jump all over me for not caring about the needs of Shrink and Recode users who don't own CloneDVD, understand that I spent quite a bit of my time trying to find ways for Shrink and Recode users to use AnyDVD with the latest protections before the ripper was updated. So believe me, I care.
     
  5. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    Technically adding a "movie only" checkbox would be a piece of cake. The code is already present (AnyDVD must already determine the main movie for its "Jump to main movie" reauthoring feature).
    The problem is, this checkbox wouldn't work all the time, only most of the time. It would fail with episodic discs. It would fail with bonus discs.
    It would fail with every disc having titles with similar length (e.g., theatrical release & director's cut, pan&scan and widescreen version, ...)
    Adding a UI where the user can make adjustments for these "special cases" would really go too far. This is really what CloneDVD (or any other encoding program) was made for.
     
  6. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    Exactly my point. Why should AnyDVD be doing that kind of processing? It's one thing to have a ripper function built in so that people can get a clean rip to use with other programs. It's quite another to add functionality to AnyDVD that A> already exists elsewhere, and B> doesn't belong there in the first place. Just remember, and you pointed this out, the more complex you make a product, the more likely it is to break and add support headaches. Ripper functionality...necessary and highly useful. Movie only and other stuff...not necessary and adds needless complexity to a "simple" product. No thanks. I'll take it as it is.
     
  7. Mike89

    Mike89 Well-Known Member

    Hmm, I have to think this through again. I understand the complexity of trying to determine a movie only rip relating to multiple titles on a disk. RipIt4Me has some issues in that area when there are multiple titles like Directors Cuts. It always chooses the largest one which is not always the right one. It does OK when both fullscreen and widescreen are present (it shows both so the user can choose).

    Until this thread I didn't really know that CloneDVD2 could be used for this. When I did use it (yes I did buy it already, bought the whole package) I used it as the whole deal, rip/compress/encode/burn.

    My comments about AnyDVD doing it all was relating to having to use another program in between the ripping function of AnyDVD and DVD Shrink/Recode. I've always said if CloneDVD could do some of the things DVD Shrink can do, I would have no need for Shrink at all. Currently that's not the case, specifically; being able to edit frame by frame instead of section by section, being able to edit credits frame by frame, being able to hear each audio option beforehand to eliminate what was not wanted (besides not particularly liking the cartoon interface). IMO, that's a good direction to take for Slysoft that would entice people away from DVD Shrink/Recode (because it would just not be needed any longer unless one still prefers Imgburn to burn being DVD Shrink can be modified to hook directly to it).

    I happen to prefer fullscreen to widescreen. The widescreen diehards may think that strange but it's just my preference. Until the day comes where I own a widescreen TV (which I don't see happening anytime soon) I want to view the entire screen I paid for instead of viewing more side to side with the effect of making everything I view smaller (I just don't miss what I can't see on the side). This is one of the main reasons why I like to rip to hard drive first (along with having the Video TS folder already on hard drive if something went wrong with the on the fly ripping/encoding). I can then use PgcEdit to turn widescreen to Pan&Scan before it hits DVD Shrink/Recode. I've been doing this procedure for a couple of years now and have always liked the results. Can't do that on the fly because it involves editing an ifo.

    I do want to say that I hope my comments are not perceived as taking 'shots'. That is not my intention. I've always had much respect for Slysoft for what they do. I'm just giving comments from a user who burns a lot.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2007
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    If you own Clonedvd2, you shouldn't be using Anydvd to rip.

    In many cases, it's better to simply buy the fullscreen edition instead. Here's why:

    visit http://plum.cream.org/HP/ps.htm

    If you use the widescreen as the source, you then lose the extra picture information that was provided by the fullscreen edition.
     
  9. Mike89

    Mike89 Well-Known Member

    Not always. Sometimes it's just the opposite depending on how the makers chooses how it's done. Anyway as I've said, I've gotten good results and never regretted doing it. Most of my friends see the way it looks and want to do it also. Just comes down to personal preference. Never once have I watched a movie this way and as I watched it said, "man I must be missing something on the side". I just don't think that way, I get immersed in what I'm seeing (guess it's from growing up watching a regular TV size screen). Now watching a widescreen on a regular TV, I do go the other way thinking, "these black bars are driving me nuts" (and having to view everything smaller). Heh heh, I just feel like I'm getting robbed, being forced to have my 32" TV turned into a 19" TV when I paid some pretty good bucks for it. Just my point of view which is only relevent to me.

    Note: This method will only turn 16x9 (1.75/1, 1.85/1) to fullscreen. For 2.35/1 and 2.40/1, the best you can get is 16x9 (which for me is still better than the superwide/supernarrow).
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2007
  10. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    DVDFab Platinum may not have the capability to be imported into Shrink or Recode but neither of those softwares are needed with it. It is a stand alone program and will work on all of the new Sony releases.
     
  11. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    As does CloneDVD. So, your point is?
     
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Anydvd is a superior solution for Shrink and Recode users because they do not require, with the exception of the newer Sony/Lionsgate releases, Anydvd to rip first. Dvdfab, in all cases, does need to rip first if it wants to provide compatibility with Shrink or Recode. dvdfab's real competition to Anydvd (namely css+regionfree and dvdidle) hasn't been updated since Oct. 2006, and development on those programs appear, for the moment, to be "paused":

    visit http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=1766255&postcount=79

    Consequently those programs (css+regionfree/dvdidle) can not handle, at this time, the newer Sony nor the newer protect-dvd releases from Germany.

    While dvdfab platinum does provide its own transcoding and burning solution, I sincerely doubt any well-informed Shrink or Recode fan would switch to dvdfab platinum just for that reason.

    Regardless, for Shrink and Recode users, Anydvd, since the advent of Anydvd 6.1.4.2, is the better solution.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  13. SLaTheR-

    SLaTheR- Well-Known Member

    I've been using DVDFab for ripping Sony crap for a while now. Just to get compliant files for Shrink and/or recode.

    I will no longer be doing that. With the advent of AnyDVD new ripper, it seems redundant to even have DVDFab on my puter. ;)

    I have always been a cheer leader for Slysoft's AnyDVD. VERY glad to have this program be my everyuse one again.
     
  14. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    My point was to correct this.

    [Most movies (with the exception of the Sony/Lionsgate nonsense) can be directly imported into either Shrink or Recode anyway with Anydvd running in the background--which is something ripit4me and dvdfab cannot provide.]
     
  15. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    I started using DVDFab because of the Sony movies also and I will also be going back to using AnyDVD w/Shrink........... as long as it can do the Sony movies.
     
  16. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    But there's nothing to correct. His statement is accurate. You can't import the DVD directly into Shrink or Recode using DVDFab...and THAT is what he was saying. He wasn't saying DVDFab couldn't handle the disc by itself....
     
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Yes, exactly. What I wrote is true. In fact, Casino Royale R1 can be imported directly into (newer versions of) Nero Recode with Anydvd running in the background. That's pretty impressive, in of itself, considering how messed up Casino Royale's structure is. Dvdfab can't provide the same functionality for Recode without ripping first.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  18. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    The latest ARccOS(I believe Sony "changed the formula" after the Pursuit of Happyness playback problems) can be imported, as well. VERY kuel stuff. But, that doesn't change the fact that it's still better to pre-process with CloneDVD before compressing with Shrink or Recode for many reasons.
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Well, on this point, I'm just going to keep my mouth shut. :)

    However, there are, of course, advantages to removing what you don't want first using Clonedvd. If one is going to rip first, I always recommend using Clonedvd.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  20. SamuriHL

    SamuriHL Moderator

    Who are you and what have you done with Webslinger?!?!?! :D I thought you were going to back me up on the CloneDVD->DVD Shrink link feature addition. :D