• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Amazon and Netflix file size

Greg Alex

Hello,

I have noticed that on average, 1080p downloads from Amazon are almost double in size compared to Netflix. There are instances where there's the same movie on both providers in 1080p, but Amazon's file will be 4-5gb bigger.....

Does that mean that Netflix does not allow AS to download bigger streams (I know it's out of AS's control) or does Netflix use better compression that results in smaller sizes by comparison?

I'm by no means an expert on the subject but I was curious about this and was hoping that someone can provide a technical explanation.

I'm under the impression that the bigger the file size the better overall quality will be...am I wrong?

or does Netflix use better compression
I believe someone wrote exactly this a time ago.

the bigger the file size the better overall quality will be
I'm not an expert with encoding videos, but the bare size is not the most important thing.
It also dependence on the video codec, the bitrate, compression and resolution.
A movie can be 1080p or even 4k but looks like crap because it is only 2Mbp/s.

Hello,

I have noticed that on average, 1080p downloads from Amazon are almost double in size compared to Netflix. There are instances where there's the same movie on both providers in 1080p, but Amazon's file will be 4-5gb bigger.....

Does that mean that Netflix does not allow AS to download bigger streams (I know it's out of AS's control) or does Netflix use better compression that results in smaller sizes by comparison?