6.1.3.3 - freeze up/hang with sata drives

Discussion in 'AnyDVD HD (DVD issues)' started by machoman013, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Hi guys, having a major problem. Already contacted support, and yes I've already done everything on the stickies including the busmaster updates. I even tried changing out complete controllers, I feel AnyDVD has a major problem with the following drives:

    LITE-ON DVDRW SH-16A7S WS04 2006/10/03 16:22
    LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1S 9L02 2007/01/10 17:20

    Never had a problem with anyDVD until I moved to SATA drives. CloneCD and CloneDVD 2 don't crash on me. I've tried multiple movie discs that I've successfully ripped before. The oddest thing about anyDVD is when I try to close the application after it freezing up trying to scan the disc, it won't terminate. Then it'll slowly eat away resources and start crashing all my other programs requiring a forceful shutdown. I've attached my log. Everything in my eventlogs state a 1001 faultbucket application hang. Nothing specific. I'm running XP+SP2. Nothing special, and no conflicting applications. Note I had to trim the log down to upload it quite a bit. I'm lost now.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    What happens if you enable "safe mode" in Anydvd (Program settings-->safe mode)?
     
  3. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Safe mode is enabled; same effect I'm afraid.
     
  4. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Have you checked for an updated Sata controller driver from your motherboard's website (it's possible you might want to check for a bios update for your motherboard as well)? I do know that Anydvd does have issues with a certain Lite-on drive. I'm trying to find the thread . .
    .

    Here it is: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=208522

    But I don't think that's a SATA burner.
     
  5. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    checked and tried with motherboard and nvidia chipset driver updates (a8n-e) doesn't matter; firmware is fully updated. I even bought a separate controller card and shoved that on there for a PCI slot and it's still producing the same effect.

    p.s. also saw several lite-on related threads; nothing really helpful.
     
  6. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Might be a conflict with those burners then. Sorry, I'm not sure.

    I doubt this will help, but can you list your filter info from step 4 here please:
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=1559
     
  7. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    :( oh well.. only a 40 dollar investment lost. i'm hoping the next update will help me out here.

    lesson to some of you out there; if you don't need it... don't go screwing with what works... administrator/technician #1 n00b mistake.
     
  8. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

  9. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Lowerfilters AnyDVD, ElbyDelay, ElbyCDFL, PxHelp20

    Upperfilters GEARAspiWDM
     
  10. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Looks fine to me. I suppose you could remove PXHelp20 and Gearaspiwdm and test (the associated apps that installed them probably won't work properly if you just delete those entries, but I'm sure you'e aware of that), but I really see no reason to.

    I would chalk it up to a conflict between Anydvd and those drives.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2007
  11. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Neither do I. I'm trying to find possible RPC1 firmware updates for either or both drives. Having a hard time. Got any other site suggestions to try?
     
  12. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Try doing a search at cdfreaks.com (or visit their lite-on section of the forums: http://club.cdfreaks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44). A RPC1 firmware may not be available yet (you will be potentially voiding your warranty if you don't use official Lite-on firmware, of course).
     
  13. James

    James Redfox Development Team Staff Member

    Can you please try to remove the motherboard drivers and only use the drivers that come with windows?
     
  14. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Isn't that part of the IDE/SATA busmaster steps in the sticky? I've done that though. Windows feels it's drivers are better than ASUS/Nvidia's anyways.
     
  15. oldjoe

    oldjoe Well-Known Member

    machoman013 ...Do you know what Chipsets that MOBO uses??
     
  16. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Sorry for a previous post if anyone read A8N-E, that was my old board my new one is the Asus M2N and It uses the Nforce 430 MCP.
     
  17. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    In device manager, under "ide ata/atapi controllers", check the entries by
    by right clicking on each one and selecting "properties". The click the "driver" tab. Does the driver say "Microsoft" for each listing?

    Under "SCSI and Raid Controllers", do the same thing for the one that has "Sata/raid controller" listed. What does it say under "driver"? Chances are it's not Microsoft here (but I'm curious as to what it does say).
     
  18. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    Yes, each one says microsoft under the IDE/ATA ATAPI controllers "5.1.2600.2180"

    SCSI controller: Silicon Image 1.0.56.1
     
  19. Webslinger

    Webslinger Retired Moderator

    Do you have a listing that states something like "SATA/RAID controller" (not SCSI)?
     
  20. machoman013

    machoman013 Member

    It reads as a SCSI/RAID listing instead of SATA/RAID.

    The controller PCI add in is a SATA/RAID card; model # Sil 3512