• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

getting drive soon... what else do I need?

z-factor

Hi all,

Sorry this post is long - I'm a newbie.
I've got an order for an LG GGC-H20L and it should be coming tomorrow. My motherboard has integrated video, but no HDCP support, so I'm looking into using AnyDVD HD. Right now, I'm just interested in playback, not copying to HD. According to the datasheet, I'll get PowerDVD with the drive. Is there anything that I'm missing besides AnyDVD HD?

BTW, the drive is from Nowdirect, they're selling it for $170, with free shipping (though I had to remind them to give me free shipping). http://www.nowdirect.com/exec/partInfo/part_detail.tsb?prcpart=LGOGGC-H20L
I'll mention my satisfaction levelin a subsequent post once I get the drive.

I want to use it in my new HTPC (Intel E6550 + NVidia 7100 motherboard). It doesn't have hardware assisted decode, but I'm hoping it's got enough horsepower to decrypt for 720p display (it handles decryption of 720p and 1080p HD clips from apple's movie trailer site using only 1 of the 2 cores). Does this sound reasonable?

And if I want to play HD-DVD's off the hard drive, I either need to get version 3319a of powerdvd ultra or a tool that will remount the files on HDD as a dvd?

Thanks,

Hi Z,