• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Legality of AnyDVD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Motoko21

I live in the USA, is 'AnyDVD' legal to use in the United States?

If you own the DVD you are backing up, you may make 1 backup so your original will always be protected. But you must own the original dvd.

This really isn't an answer that can be answered with a yes or no. For your own personal use for your own legally owned discs then I'd say yes but I am not a lawyer.

I'll refer you to a thread here: http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=11573

Read that thread and scroll down a few posts to around where you'll see lostinlodos posts. I would advise reading the entire thread.

Can you explain further? I think my friend has this program, what if he wanted to borrow one of my dvd's to copy?

Can you explain further? I think my friend has this program, what if he wanted to borrow one of my dvd's to copy?

Borrow your DVD to make a copy for himself? No, that is most definitely not legal.

As far as I've known... and it could be different, in the US, you are allowed to, under the "Fair Use" law... make a backup of your purchased media so long as it does not contain any copy protection.

DVDs .. either standard, HD or Bluray, all have protection. Most music CDs do not.... and that's also one of the reasons those that sell media online, are now selling without protection. It isn't just so you can play on all forms of players, but allows the user to do so "legally".