• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

HD-DVD problem

paul525715

Hi everyone - I'm a newbie so please don't shout at me!

I recently bought a computer with an LG blu-ray / HD-DVD player (it's a Medion 8828 PC). I was advised by my brother-in-law to install AnyDVD HD, which I did, following the installation notes scattered on these forums. Then, when I ran Powerdvd Ultra, it said that there was a critical update, which I performed (this was two days ago, so I'm assuming it's the latest update).

My brother-in-law provided me with two dvd's to try...

Talladega nights (Blu-ray, European - Region B)
Mi:3 (HD-DVD, American - Region A)

Talladega nights runs fine, but I had expected it to - it's a UK release.
Mi:3 is recognised by PowerDVD and by AnyDVD HD. If I open up anydvd HD from the systray it gives the title of the disc and states that the AACS encoding has been circumnavigated (OWTTE). However, when I click the play button on the PowerDVD, I get a brief black screen and then the whole program disappears and all I'm left with is the desktop.

I have no idea if this is a PowerDVD problem, AnyDVD problem, or something else. What I did find, however, is a quote from the cyberlink forum, relating to the latest update, which states...

"If you have the AnyDVD HD software in memory then PowerDVD wont run the disk giving the error described in this post, if you dont have AnyDVD HD running then the disks will work fine."

Can anyone shed some light on this and help out a completely clueless newbie (who thought he was doing well until he stumbled on this problem!)

Thanks in advance,

Paul