• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Suggested Compression & File Settings?

IamGaryGnu

Hi - I have been an avid fan of anydvd and clonedvd where I know what I'm doing.
I'm new to the world of BluRay having upgraded my home theater equipment, and I'm begging for help.
I am NOT interested in copying to discs, I am interested in watching movies (sometimes over and over!) on my home theater PC, usually Kodi via OpenElec, though my new NAS will natively support Plex and I may go in that direction.
I believe the typical bluray is about 50gb, and i read about BR25. Again, since I'm not going back to disc, and as I get older my eyesite is getting worse anyway, I figure nice 1080p will suit me just fine, thank you very much. If anyone cares, my projector is the sony vpl-45es which is HD, but not 4k. (IF i later go to 4k, i'd have to post this again i suppose!).
I like menus, I like English audio only, and I don't want coming attractions.
Is there a "sweet spot" setting of quality versus size? I THINK my DVDs automagically go down to about 4.7gb anyway, which I think is about 50% compression. I'd love to have bluray files about 5gb but that might be a pipe dream, or might lose too much fidelity. I do want decent sound to go along.
If there's a suggested bit rate or compression setting i'd be appreciative, i didn't spot it anywhere. I only got CloneBD yesterday, and I am trying to learn my way - but when i need 100gb free on my hd for processing, etc. the "stakes" are much higher than "mere" dvds.