• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Troubles Backing Up A Couple Of Discs

HiJumpr111

Hi all,

I am very pleased with this program thus far. I had previously been a user of 321's DVD XCopy and I believe this one to be a bit superior.

However, I have encountered a couple of problems:

#1 As a math teacher, I was hopig to make back-ups of a Calculus Instructional DVD Series I own. It is a 4-disc package. I currently own 2 such sets but they under go heavy use as I will occasionally allow a student to borrow a disc if need be. When trying to backup any one of the 8 discs, I always get the Cyclic Redundancy Error which I am assuming is due to hevy scratches on the disc. I will admit they are pretty bad--although they seem to play alright for the most part. But as I understand it, just because they play OK doesn't mean they will read OK prior to their burn.
I have used a "Disk Doctor" resurfacing tool on a couple of the discs only to still receive the CRE message.
I'm curious as to whether either of the following could be solutions to my problem:

a. I know this sounds crazy, but I have heard of peole who actually submerged their scratched discs into boiling water for 2 minutes only to discover that they come come out good as new. Unless anyone can substantiate this, I am quite relectant to try this.

or

b. I am fairly certain that I have had a student or two in the past succesfully make a copy of these discs -- (using some other program that I do not recall.) Can AnyDVD and CloneDVD make a copy of a copy?