• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Best Use of AnyDVD (for me, at least...)

J-Mac

Hello all. I haven't posted here very much -- a couple questions here and there, IIRC. But I have been using the combination of AnyDVD and Clone DVD for more than three years to back up my DVDs, usually with great success.

My only problem is that because I AM using AnyDVD and CloneDVD, I have never needed to learn very much about the actual processes involved in ripping and burning. It has always been so darned simplified for me with these applications that I never saw the need to take the time to learn all that is available.

But I really would like to learn more about the mechanics of ripping/burning. I have been reading an immense number of forum posts here, at CDFreaks, and at VideoHelp. Of ocurse you can't really learn, though, until you start doing what you are trying to learn about, and of course..........asking questions.

So here are some questions about items for which that I am trying to get a better understanding. Some are probably pretty stupid sounding; if so, just tell me -- please just don't try to rip my head off or anything, because I am trying to keep the really stupid questions to myself!! ;) Also, if asking a number of questions in one post is poor protocol here, let me know and I will quickly break them off into separate threads. OK? Well, here goes!

First, I am using a custom Falcon Northwest PC running XP SP2 (Professional) w/specs as follow:
  • AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+
  • Corsair Twin2X 2048 MB (2 GB) RAM