• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Need help understanding all this video stuff

Dr_F

I hope someone can help me. I'm new to copying videos and can't quite understand all of the different "standards". I've used AnyDVD and 1Click DVD Pro to copy many of my home DVD's with great results. I've been able to copy 99 percent of all the DVD's I've tried with my PC running Windows XP. The copies can be played in any computer or DVD player I've tried without a hitch. Until now! My company recently switched to Mac OS 10.4 and I got a Mac Powerbook with an Intel CoreDuo processor. However, none of my copied DVD's will play in my Mac, but the originals will play just fine???!!!

I've tried to "Google" an answer and I'm more confused than ever. All the MPEG-2, 3, 4, etc. AVI, NTSC, PAL, Quicktime, RAM, mumbo jumbo is quite confusing for the novice. I have a feeling that somewhere in this murky soup is why my DVD movies won't play on my Mac, but I can't seem to see the forest for the trees. Any help you could give me or send me to a website that will help would be most appreciated. Also, does this mean I'll need a separate ripper software for my Mac and then make more copies of my DVD's???

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." Albert Einstein

Thanks for any help you can give.

Last edited:
Welcome to Apple's world. There are a couple of programs that will let make MAC and XP play together. You can Google them or wait for someone to tell you where to get them.