• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

Newbie questions re: using third party B/U software

jeff9329

Hi, I am a total newbie to AnyDVD and have had difficulties getting started out.

My intent is backing up DVDs before the kids scratch them or rescuing them after the fact. We typically view on a large screen TV, so maximum quality is my goal with no reduction in image quality. Therefore, no re-rendering or transcoding is generally acceptable.

Hardware and software available is:
1. Sony Vegas 7.0d non-linear editor
2. Sony DVD Architect 4.0b DVD authoring tool
3. Gear Video 8.20 DVD burning/copying/multi-tool
4. VLC Media Player - plays anything, good for reviewing VOBs & deleting junk
5. AnyDVD
6. Canopus ADVC 110 hardware transcoder
7. DVD burner - NEC 3550A with custom firmware
8. DVD burner - NEC/Optiarc 7170 with custom firmware

With AnyDVD running, I initially tried to use the Vegas "Import from DVD" feature. This imports the VOB files directly to the timeline losslessly as their native format. It's a total no-go with AnyDVD running. With AnyDVD off, it imports all the files but with missing content and some files empty. So, no luck this way.

Then tried using my copying software (Gear). It seemed to work, making a full copy to DL+R discs but ended with an error every time. Various DVD players couldn't reckognize them, but the computer could.

It does seem AnyDVD ripper pulls all the files out to a HD very well. I haven't tried working them that way yet.

Any tips?

Last edited: