• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

DVD Rebuilder questions (was Compressing with CloneDVD or DVD Shrink)

bryanbeagle

I'm a novice at backing up dvd's. Quick question: Would using clonedvd to convert to .iso (dvd5) be the same as using clonedvd to covert to ts folder (dvd9) and then using dvd shrink (maximum sharpness compression) to convert it to .iso? I noticed Clone does not give you a quality option.

Does shrink's maximum sharpness really make a big difference in quality?
Or does clonedvd do the basically the same, but all in one step?

Thanks for all your help, if i could do away with 'shrink' that would be great. But, if that sharpness function really helps the quality, then maybe not.

Would using clonedvd to convert to .iso (dvd5) be the same as using clonedvd to covert to ts folder (dvd9) and then using dvd shrink (maximum sharpness compression) to convert it to .iso? I noticed Clone does not give you a quality option.

Bryanbeagle , welcome to forum. Your question has nothing to do with ANydvdHD, so it belongs in different form. Two possibilities are third party or clone dvd form. As for your question.

No, whenever you compress dvd it is not the same. As for the quality clone dvd doesn’t produce very high quality compare to shrink. But if you are using clone dvd to pre process dvd. Then in that case you might just use anydvd function rip to harddrive. And import directly to shrink.