• AnyStream is having some DRM issues currently, Netflix is not available in HD for the time being.
    Situations like this will always happen with AnyStream: streaming providers are continuously improving their countermeasures while we try to catch up, it's an ongoing cat-and-mouse game. Please be patient and don't flood our support or forum with requests, we are working on it 24/7 to get it resolved. Thank you.

question

dgrd1701

Sorry for newbie question, but I'm new to Blu-ray. Does Nero remove protections or do we still need AnyDVD HD running while Nero is copying?

PS. It seems most people on this forum play the Blu-ray movies from a hard drive instead of a backup Blu-ray disk, why is this done? If very many Blu-ray movies are collected, ripping to a hard drive would take a huge amount of disk space.

Sorry for newbie question, but I'm new to Blu-ray. Does Nero remove protections or do we still need AnyDVD HD running while Nero is copying?

Nero won't remove protections. AnyDVD HD must be running.

PS. It seems most people on this forum play the Blu-ray movies from a hard drive instead of a backup Blu-ray disk, why is this done? If very many Blu-ray movies are collected, ripping to a hard drive would take a huge amount of disk space.

Do me a favor...give me 2 prices. Price per gig for hard drives and price per gig for blank BD media. Then you'll have your answer.

Blank Blu-ray media

Thanks for the reply. Right now Blu-ray media is very expensive, but I'm hoping that will change over the next 1-2 years. Standard def DVD media was very expensive (and unreliable) at first too -- admittedly not as expensive as Blu-ray media is now.